A Surprising Discovery

My wife and I have been slowly, but surely (and stop calling me Shirley), cleaning out our second bedroom to make room for baby stuph. This weekend, my main goal was to move my bookshelves out. Since I have a lot of books, this was no easy task. I was able to do it, and while I was moving them out, I noticed something.

I figured that the author that I had the most books from would either be Michael Connelly or Harlan Coben. To my surprise, it wasn’t. The most books I had from one author turned out to be R. A. Salvatore, which is someone most of you have probably never heard of.

R. A. Salvatore is most known for writing novels set in the Dungeons and Dragons setting of Forgotten Realms. He has also written some fantasy books outside of that setting, but I have yet to read any of those. A few people out there might know him because of the two Star Wars books he’s written: Vector Prime (which is the beginning of the New Jedi Order series) and the book adaptation of Attack of the Clones (which I have yet to read, but I’m sure he made it more interesting than the movie version).

His writing style is very unique. Even though the settings of his books are fantasy worlds, whether it is Forgotten Realms or Star Wars, he has a way of pulling you into them. His characters are always multi-faceted and compelling. He is also the best I have ever read at describing action or fighting scenes.

If you ever feel like reading one of his books, I would suggest starting with the books of the Dark Elf trilogy, as it is the beginnings his most famous character, Drizzt Do’ Urden. If you’re anything like me, after you read the first Drizzt book, you’ll want to read the rest, which means reading at least 15 more books.

6 comments on “A Surprising Discovery

  1. southerndreamer says:

    I read Vector Prime and really liked it. I can’t say that I liked how that series wrapped up,but you are correct that he is excellent at character building. I believe I also read Attack of the Clones. I recall that the book versions of the movies always painted a much better picture of the political machinations as well as the character’s emotional states.

    • Vector Prime is an awesome book. I have to say that there was one thing in that book that I, or anyone else probably, did not see coming (I’m sure you know what I’m talking about). I’ve only read the first 3 or 4 books in the New Jedi Order series, so I’m not sure how it ends, otherwise I might agree with you.

  2. The Hook says:

    I’ve heard the Dark Elf books rock hard!

    • They are very good. Salvatore is one of those authors where you find it very hard to put down their books. I’ve read the entire trilogy at least two times already and I still find myself saying, “One more chapter, then I’ll put it down,” over and over again.

  3. twindaddy says:

    Your wife said that you had been getting rid of some of your books. I hope those aren’t among the ones you’ve gotten rid of. I might like to read them one day….

    • No, the books I got rid of are ones that I knew I would never read again, or ones that were given to me that I didn’t really want to read in the first place. As I have yet to read a Salvatore book that wasn’t awesome, I have no plans on ever getting rid of any of them.

Revis "......."