Walking In To Stupidity

It’s been a long time since I’ve felt the need to vent about work on here. I try not to, but something happened today that almost made me crush my skull from the enormous face palm I was forced to give it.

For those of you who don’t remember, or didn’t know in the first place, the company I work for does contract work repairing radios for a car stereo manufacturer. While we do some retail models, most of what we handle are factory installed radios that are still under warranty. An order is generated when a car dealership calls in and says there’s a problem with a radio. Those orders go on a list which I go out to the warehouse, pick, put the radios into a box, and then ship. It’s fairly simple.

Now, every once in a while, we’ll get an email from the order takers telling us to cancel an order. Sometimes it’s because there was a system error and they need to re-enter the order, but it’s usually because the dealer will call back and say they don’t need it anymore. That’s what happened on Friday. I got an email telling me to cancel an order. So, I did. And, like I have to do every time I cancel an order, I sent an email confirming that I cancelled it. My job was done.

Then, I came into work this morning. The first thing I do after starting every day is check my email. That’s when I saw this:

Hello, Can you tell me if this order
was Cancel. Order# @#$%^&*/  Dealer said he called. Talk to someone, request it to be Cancel. Well the dealer called back today. And he still needs this radio. So please do not cancel. If you didn’t. please ship it out. And let me know. Thank you

Besides the atrocious grammar, there are many things incredibly wrong with this email. Things that make me want to punch holes in some of the boxes we have around here. Let me go through them for you as if I was talking to the person who sent it, because I can’t actually say these things to her or I’d be fired.

“Hello, Can you tell me if this order
was Cancel”

Yes, it was cancelled. If you would check your email, you’d already know this.

“Dealer said he called. Talk to someone, request it to be Cancel.”

The dealer said they called and talked to someone about cancelling the order? Yeah, they did. It was you, you moron. You’re the one who sent me the email asking for the order to be cancelled, so they obviously talked to you.

“Well the dealer called back today. And he still needs this radio. So please do not cancel.”

Today is Tuesday. Per your request,  I cancelled the order back on Friday. As far as I know, time travel is impossible, so I can’t go back and uncancel it.

“If you didn’t. please ship it out. And let me know. Thank you”

Once again, I sent you confirmation back on Friday that this order had been cancelled. I can’t ship it out because…oh, I don’t know….THE ORDER WAS CANCELLED!!!!

Sheesh….

5 comments on “Walking In To Stupidity

  1. Oh, the stupid, it burns! I really hope that the reason that person has such poor English is because they’re still learning it.

  2. djmatticus says:

    Soooooo…. did they submit a new order?

Revis "......."

