Ghoul Fan Fiction Part 4

ghoul-ultraverse-exiles-ultraforce-a

My pal Dane, aka The Black Knight, wasn’t home. From the looks of it,  he hadn’t been here in a long time. That’s why I felt confident that he wouldn’t get upset that I broke in. (Author’s Note: From what I can gather, The Black Knight now resides in the Marvel dimension known as WeirdWorld.)

After getting Amanda settled down, I asked her what was really going on. “Most people don’t know this,” she answered, “but my father was one of the most powerful people in the city. He was the leader of one of the families.”

“If he was a Don, or whatever the hell they call themselves nowadays, how is it that nobody knows that?”

“I asked him that once myself, when I finally caught on to what he did for a living. He reminded me of how he used to laugh at the gangster movies when the leaders would lead from out front to prove how tough they were, that they were in charge. He said it was the heights of arrogance and stupidity to do that because all you were doing was making yourself, and your family, a target.

“It made more sense, he said, to be the man behind the curtain, to be the puppeteer pulling the strings. They can’t take a shot at you if they don’t know you’re there. It was how he protected us.”

“How did you find out what he did? I would think that he didn’t want you to know about it.”

“He didn’t want anybody to know about it. There were only a couple of guys in his organization that knew more than half of what he had going on. I only found out because I stumbled on to the books for the restaurant and studied them. I figured it would be a good way for me to learn more about real world accounting than I could in my accounting class. When I looked them over, I saw some inconsistencies and I confronted him about them. He was laundering money. He told me everything after that.”

“So who’s running things now that he’s gone?”

“There are two guys who are in charge now. Both of them are named John, so we called them by their last names, Cook and Dallos. They’ve been friends with my dad since elementary school. Dallos is the enforcer. Cook is the brains of the operation. They thought my father was just a flunky like them. The orders stopped coming as soon as he died, so it wasn’t long before they figured it out.”

“I doubt that they were thrilled about being kept in the dark like that.”

“If they were angry, they didn’t show it to me. They came to me a couple of days ago saying that they had found all of dad’s files except for those of the restaurant. Apparently, there was something missing from the other files that they really needed and they figured it had to be mixed in with those.

“They said that if I found it for them, they’d make sure I’d be taken care of. I’m still family to them. I said that I’d find the papers for them, but I didn’t care about the money as long as I got to keep the restaurant. Dad really loved that place.”

Amanda’s eyes dropped to the ground at the memory of her father. For a second, I thought she was going to cry, but she pulled herself together. “What happens now,” she asked.

“From what I know about the Punisher, he’s not one to let this drop. At least, not without a good reason. So, I’m going to go give him a good reason.”

“How are you going to do that?”

“I’m gonna make him an offer he can’t refuse.”

I turned to her in triumph, a big grin on my face. A deep frown greeted me in return. “Oh, come on,” I protested. “That was the perfect place for that line!” The frown was joined by the shaking of her head. “Whatever. I’m going to go have a chat with the Punisher. You stay right here. This place can’t be traced to you and the only one who can tie me to it in any way is the guy who owns it. Speaking of which, if a guy in black armor, with a wicked looking sword comes in, just tell him you’re with me.”

“A man with a wicked looking sword? Great. I feel safe now.”

“Don’t worry. He won’t hurt you. He’s an Avenger.” Well, he used to be anyway, I said in my head. “Don’t leave this apartment for any reason. We brought enough food with us to last you a few days. I’m not sure I’d trust anything left in his kitchen. I’ll come back as soon as it’s safe. I promise.”

“Are you sure you’re gonna be able to find this guy?”

“I am a detective, you know. Besides, and I hate to have to use another movie quote,  but something tells me that I won’t be finding him. He’ll be finding me.”

Two hours later, thanks to traffic, I was proven right. I unlocked, then opened, my office door to find The Punisher sitting behind my desk. “Tell me where the girl is,” he demanded.

“Or else what,” I countered. “You can’t kill me. I’m already dead. And because of the dead thing, I don’t feel pain anymore, so you can’t torture it out of me either. So, here’s what I propose: Don’t kill the girl, and I’ll …”

“I’m not going to kill the girl. I never was.”

“And I’m supposed to believe that?”

“I’ve been doing this a long time. By now, I can tell who is in the business and who isn’t. She clearly isn’t.”

“You shot at her. I jumped in front to take the bullet.”

“If I shot at her, I would’ve hit her. I shot at you because you made a move towards me.”

“If you weren’t there to kill her, why were you there?”

“I was going to try to scare her into giving me her father’s papers.”

“Why is everyone so eager to get their hands on these papers? From what Amanda said it was just accounting sheets that showed he laundered money through the restaurant.”

The Punisher began talking, but I didn’t hear him. My focus was now on the ghost that had walked through my office door. “I have a son,” the ghost explained. “They were waiting for me when I went to go get him. I thought he’d be safer with me.”

“You should’ve told me,” I whispered. “I could’ve…”

“I’m sorry for getting you into this mess,” the ghost interrupted. “Goodbye.”

I punched the wall as it disappeared. “No!”

“What’s your problem,” the Punisher asked. “Who were you talking to?”

“It’s too late. I’m too late. They killed her. She’s dead.”

“What are you talking about? Who’s dead?”

“Amanda. They killed Amanda.”

2 comments on “Ghoul Fan Fiction Part 4

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    This read like a gutpunch. I’m more intrigued.

Revis "......."

