Wasting 

A few days ago, one of my Facebook memories was a link to a post I wrote 5 years ago. I remembered the title of the post, but I didn’t remember what it was about. So, I went back and read it again. When I got to the end, I saw links to some older related posts, so I clicked on one of them. I repeated this process until I had read through 10 -15 older posts of mine. After doing that, I saw a pattern that kind of bothered me.

I’ve wasted quite a few story ideas over the years.

There were a fair number of those posts where I talked about different story ideas I’ve had over the years. A couple, like my Left 4 Dead story and Sceptre of Chaos, I actually saw through until the end. Others I started, but, for one reason or another, I never finished. The rest I didn’t even begin.

For the most part, these ideas faltered for one of two reasons. The first is that I simply lost my enthusiasm for the idea. It’s not that I thought they were bad ideas. I just wasn’t excited about them anymore.

The other reason is time. As much as I love writing, I don’t always have time to do it. Granted, there are stories that I specifically made time for, such as the book I wrote with Matt (or any other collaborations I’ve done with him or anybody else), but everything else has been done on a “if I have time” basis. There was a two month stretch where I tried to dedicate a half hour to an hour a day to writing whatever I had going on at the time, but it didn’t last.

The things I spend my time on are important  (like being with my wife and daughter) or necessary  (like going to work). I shouldn’t feel bad for not having more time to write, but there are days that I do. While I could definitely give up working, I would never give up the time I spend with my girls. So, the solution seems simple: I need to get paid for writing so I can quit work and have the time to do it. I don’t see that happening any time soon, however.

If you’d like to do your part in helping me with this endeavor, click on the Buy My Book link at the top of my page and purchase what Revis Edgewater has called “the greatest book of all time”. If you decided to buy 5, 10, or 15 copies of it, I certainly wouldn’t hold it against you.

2 comments on “Wasting 

  1. djmatticus says:

    I too have a bunch of started but never finished stories. I’d say most writers do, actually… even those who get paid. But, it sure would be fun to get to fill our work hours with words all the same so I fully support trying to make that a reality.

Revis "......."

