We Were On A Break

As you may have noticed, I really haven’t been writing much lately. That’s not just on this here blog, but also on my personal projects. For whatever reason, I just haven’t been in a writing mood. 

Instead, I’ve been doing a lot of reading. I read Storm Front by Jim Butcher  (started off slow. Took me a while to get into it, but once I did, it was great), The God’s Eye View by Barry Eisler (a gripping story that’s somewhat frightening because it sounds like something that could be happening as we speak), and, right now, I’m three-quarters of the way through The Wrong Side of Goodbye by Michael Connelly  (so far, I don’t want to put it down. I’m hoping that the ending lives up to the rest of the book). Plus, all of the comics I’ve been reading on Marvel Unlimited. 

I’ve also been playing my Xbox a lot, mostly in the Dragon Age series of games. I’ve already beaten the first game, along with the DLC for it called Awakening. Right now I’m two-thirds of the way through Dragon Age 2. Just yesterday I finally got 100% on the achievements for it. I actually had already been at 100% previously, but 2 days after I accomplished that, they came out with DLC for it that added new achievements. Bastards… Once I get through with that, I’m going to play Inquisition again. 

After I get through with the Michael Connelly book, I’m going to go back to focusing more on my writing. I’m planning on using most of my attention on my personal projects, but I’ll try to squeeze in some time for more blog posts. There’s already a story idea for a short series that I have in mind.

A while ago, I had an idea about taking an existing character that was generally viewed as lame, or weak, and coming up with a story that made them look like they are badass. At the time, I couldn’t think of one I wanted to use, so I decided to use a character of my own. I actually haven’t started on that one for a couple of reasons. Since it was my character, I wanted to do the story in comic book form. Due to my intense hatred of writing in script form, I chose to draw the comic book myself. However, since my lack of artistic ability irritates me, I’ve been dragging my feet on it.

Yesterday, as my mind was running in circles at work, I remembered an old character when I was running through a storyline that he was involved in and thought he would be perfect for my “turning someone into a badass” idea. Honestly, it wouldn’t surprise me if nobody who reads this blog (all 3 of you) remembers who this guy is. He was never on his own, but he was part of a team that was popular enough back in the mid 90s that it had its own cartoon. Granted, it didn’t last long, but still…

It’s not going to be very long, probably only 4 or 5 parts at most. The first part is going to be a prologue that will detail his backstory based on what I remember and what’s in his entry in Wikipedia (He hasn’t been in comics in close to 20 years, from what I have been able to gather. You can’t blame me for not being able to remember everything). That way, all of the people who have no idea who he is can get a glimpse of him, and the one or two who might know him will get a brief refresher.

Will I be able to turn him into a badass? I don’t know, but I’m going to try. I’ll leave it up to you to decide if I’m successful or not. 

Revis "......."

