RTotD 11-27

It’s that time again, dear readers. It’s time for me to inflict the randomness that infects my head onto you. I know, I know. You can hate me for it later.

This thought is centered around a show that Baby E watches off of Disney Junior called Sofia the First.

sofia

In it, the princess, Sofia, wears a magical amulet. This amulet’s magic depends on how good you are as a person. If you do good things, like help people out, it gives you good powers. If you’re bad, such as acting like a stuck up bitch, it will curse you until you right whatever wrong you committed.

Seems simple enough, right?

Well, one of the running stories in the show is that the kingdom’s bumbling sorcerer is always trying to steal the amulet from Sofia because he thinks the amulet will help him take over the kingdom.

Once again, sounds pretty simple.

However, there’s a problem that occurs when you combine those two things. Stealing the amulet is a bad thing, so it would curse him if he did end up stealing it from her. But, for the sake of argument, let’s say he somehow found a way to convince her to give him the amulet. There’d still be a problem. He’s planning on using it to overthrow the rightful king and queen of the kingdom, also a very bad thing.

So, either way, the amulet he’s been trying so hard to acquire, the one he’s spontaneously broken into song about repeatedly, would actually hinder his attempts to take over the kingdom because it would curse him as soon as he tried to use it.

I realize this is a kids’ show, and I’m probably overthinking this, but shouldn’t their shows make sense, if only for the incredibly bored parents that are being force to watch this drivel?

Granted, there are about two seasons worth of episodes that we don’t have access to (only the first two seasons are on Netflix), so maybe they’ve finally addressed this stupidity. I can only hope so. If not, when they finally release new episodes on Netflix, I’ll be forced to endure more of the pain.

10 comments on “RTotD 11-27

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    I’m sure the storyline is still running. Have fun for the next two seasons..

  2. Cyn K says:

    My son was watching this over the weekend. Well, by “watching” I mean asking that I play it and then wandering off to other parts of the house. I hadn’t picked up on that thing about the amulet.

  3. ghostmmnc says:

    My grand-daughter loves this show, and has the little people she plays with, and the amulet to wear. I’ve never watched any of them, though.

  4. Daydreams says:

    If it makes you feel any better, friend. Been there. Munchkin just got off of Sofia & is now entering big kid superhero/videogame stuff.
    It’ll never make sense to us.
    One thing I do appreciate about that show, though – it does appear to try & teach kids good morals & values rather than just shoving advertising down their throats like most other things.

Revis "......."

