What I Realized as a Pepper

This crazy NaBloPoMo month is now halfway done. During that time, I was introduced to a whole bunch of bloggers that I didn’t know before. I read their stuff and enjoyed it. Hopefully, they liked mine as well. As I was reading through them, a thought occurred to me. It was something that I already knew, but never really thought about.

There are as many viewpoints as there are people on this Earth.

It’s so simple. It’s common sense. But, it’s also something that we don’t put a lot of thought into. Sure, we may think about the viewpoints of those we come into contact with every day, but we don’t spend our time wondering about how someone we’ve never met, from halfway around the world, is seeing things. Even if we do, we’ll never fully understand why they see things the way they do.

As individuals, we will only ever be able to understand our own viewpoint. Why is that, you ask? Because we are the only ones who have the unique set of circumstances that make up our viewpoint.

Each person’s viewpoint is defined by their personality, their environment, and their experiences. No two people will ever have all 3 in common.

My older brother is probably the person I’m most alike in this world, but even we don’t see eye to eye on everything. We may have similar personalities and we grew up in the  (relatively) same environment, however, our experiences have been different. He’s been through divorce. I’m hoping that I’ll never have to. He has three kids. I have one. His are all boys. Mine is a girl.

Those are just a few of the big ones. That doesn’t include the small every day things that people go through: The jobs we have, the people we meet, the responsibilities we carry.

Another difference between other people is their environment. I grew up in America. I’m not going to fully understand what it’s like to grow up in France, Japan, or South Africa. I’m not going  to know the struggles someone might face while living in India. Even if I visit these places, I will still never see them as a native would.

Our personality also helps determine our viewpoint. A shy person won’t see things the way an outgoing person will. A sarcastic person will put a different spin on things than a serious person would.

So, the next time you are talking  to, or interacting, with someone and they don’t  agree with you, just remember that they’re looking at it from a different perspective, a different viewpoint, than you are. It doesn’t mean it’s  right. It doesn’t mean it’s wrong. It just means it’s different.

And that’s ok.

10 comments on “What I Realized as a Pepper

  1. djmatticus says:

    Well said.
    Insert joke here about Pauly Shores’ butt… I’m not sure why. Perspective?

  2. Alvan says:

    Wonderfully articulated. And it’s truth.

  3. 1jaded1 says:

    Yes. May I be your grasshopper, oh wise one? I’m so enlightened…then in comes Pauly Shore’s butt. Seriously though, you are correct.

Revis "......."

