Looking Back: Revenge of the Nerds

Revenge of the Nerds, an 80s comedy set on a college campus. It was filled with everything you’d expect from an 80s movie: horrible clothes, horrible hair, and horrible synthesizer music. It’s a movie that I haven’t watched in probably 15-20 years. Every once in a while, I’ll be reminded of it and it’ll get me thinking.

Back then: Raunchy college comedy about the little guys sticking it to the man.

Now: A bunch of college kids, that should’ve been thrown in jail, get away with multiple crimes.

To be honest, while there were some funny parts in this movie, I was a teenager when I used to watch this movie. That means that I didn’t really care much about the plot, or what happened in it. Why, you ask? Because I was a teenager and there were many boobies shown in this movie.

As an adult….well… I still like looking at boobies,  but they aren’t the sole reason I have for watching something anymore . I actually care about  plots, characters, and stories now. And, looking back on it, the nerds were horrible, horrible people.

While I agree that the jocks and their girlfriends  were complete jackasses for making fun of the nerds, what the nerds did was not only worse, it was illegal. Let’s look at the list: they broke into a sorority house, they stole the girls’ personal property  (their panties), and they set up video cameras in the sorority house’s  showers and bedrooms so they could record the girls naked without their knowledge or consent. Then, they sell these illegally obtained nude images to every horny man on campus.

And these are the heroes of the story?

Let’s also not forget the complete ridiculousness of the head nerd getting the girl. He steals her boyfriend’s mask at a costume event and wears it just long enough to trick her into sex (I’m not sure if that technically qualifies as rape but it’s close enough, if you ask me). What does this girl do when she finds out? Does she beat the crap out of him like she should? Nope. She compliments him. Apparently, in this  girl’s mind, it’s ok to sell her naked image all over campus and trick her into bed, but only if you go down on her.

Ridiculous!

I would wonder why I never noticed this when I watched this back then, but the answer is quite obvious. I was blinded by the boobies… and I still am.

12 comments on “Looking Back: Revenge of the Nerds

  1. Mr Tookles says:

    It’s all I remember of that movie. Boobies. There were a whole bunch of those movies at that time. Porky’s, weekend at Bernice’s.. I’m questioning my childhood.

    • Well, the movies like Revenge of the Nerds and Porky’s (which I actually haven’t seen) are just the precursors to more recent movies like the American Pie series. Not the ones with the original cast, but the straight to DVD “American Pie presents” movies.

      Back when I was a younger man, having boobies in a movie was pretty much all I needed. Now, I consider them an added bonus. I won’t go out of my way to see them, but, if they happen to be there, I’m certainly not going to complain.

  2. djmatticus says:

    Oh My Gosh!!
    The nerds were bad guys!!! Mind blown.

  3. Twindaddy says:

    I haven’t seen the movie in a while, but I’m pretty sure the jocks struck first… None of it is right, but that’s the kinda shit that goes on in college.

  4. Don says:

    I’m a nerd too

Revis "......."

