Prompt Post 4: Confession 

In my next prompt, I have been asked to make a confession of some sort. So, here we go:

I discriminate based on age.

Not people, of course, because people of every age are capable of doing amazing things. No, I’m talking about entertainment. Basically, if it’s a movie, song, or book made before I was born, I’m probably not going to like it. 

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that I won’t give anything made before I was born a chance. I’m just a hell of a lot less likely to. 

Music is the least offensive of the three. Or maybe it’s just because I’m so used to it. Most of the music I listened to when I was younger came from the oldies station. Both of my parents pretty much made sure that I listened to music from the 60s. It wasn’t until I got to high school that I started picking out my own music and my das was less than impressed with my choice of things like Metallica’s black album. 

Besides, old songs are over in 4 or 5 minutes, tops.

Movies are worse. These obviously take up more time than listening to a song, and are usually more painful. I don’t know. Maybe it’s because I grew up in the era where special effects and CGI started booming, but I can’t watch an old movie now without thinking about how crappy they look. The old Bond films are the worst. Their effects are so bad that they make me want to bang my head against a wall sometimes. 

The worst offender, to me is books. I have yet to read a book that was written before I was born that I  have liked, except those written by the late, great Michael Crichton. That’s it. His are the only ones.
I’ve gone in wanting to like the old books too. I was excited before I started reading the Lord of the Rings trilogy and it ended up being my worst literary experience. I disliked almost every second of reading it, but I finished them just so I could say that I read them…. it wasn’t worth it. 

The Count of Monte Cristo was another book I read after seeing the movie (the Guy Pearce/Jim Caviezel version). It was much easier to get through, but it still wasn’t a good time. 

The Man in the High Castle  (which you should really watch if you have Amazon Prime. It’s great) was a book written back in the 60s. It was probably the most boring book I have ever read. Almost nothing happens in the whole book. If you took out him explaining all the differences in the world, because in this book, Germany won World War Two, all you’d be left with is about  25 pages. Honestly, the only reason I finished it is because of how short it was. Had it been longer, I probably would’ve quit halfway through. 

So, sorry to those who want me to read or watch the old  classic that they love. It’s more than likely not going to happen. I’m ageist.

15 comments on “Prompt Post 4: Confession 

  1. djmatticus says:

    I don’t even know who you are anymore…
    Music: Led Zepplin?
    Movie: Seven Samurai?
    Book: The Mary Stewart Merlin Trilogy?
    And that’s just me getting started!!!

    • Led Zeppelin, not a fan. They have a couple of good songs, but that’s it.
      I’ve never heard of the other two things.

      • djmatticus says:

        Pink Floyd? The Who? The Doors? Rolling Stones?
        I’d tell you to watch Seven Samurai, but you won’t. Your loss. It’s an epic martial arts movie, generally regarded as one of the best films ever made.
        And I’d tell you to read the Merlin Trilogy – an epic Arthurian fantasy told from the perspective of Merlin. Who he was. How he learned magic. What he gave up to become Arthur’s mentor. It’s brilliant. But, again, I doubt you would take the time.

        • They each have one or two decent to good songs, Pink Floyd more than the others, but I still don’t consider myself a fan of any of them. And before you ask, no, I don’t like the Beatles either.

          Sorry, Matt. I’ve been burned too many times before. I just don’t know if I can take another old movie or book destroying my will to live. I won’t say never, but you’re probably right about me never watching that movie or reading those books.

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    You guys have me in stitches. Frank Sinatra and Tony Bennett are awesome. Alfred Hitchcock. All Quiet on the Western Front. Sniff. Im taking my toys and going home…oh wait, I’m too OLD for toys. P.S. I you stop being friends, I will make it a point to martial arts both of you into a position where you stare at each other til you make up. No movie required.

    Love you both!

  3. 1jaded1 says:

    I don’t need to kidnap you. I can just get into your minds and make you picture DJ and DJ picture you. Pfft. Physical kidnapping is so last century. Who is aging himself?

Revis "......."

