I’m not the guy.

You want a natural or gifted athlete? I’m not the guy. 

Even in my youth, when I played sports a lot more regularly, I was only able to get to be decent at best. I never led my soccer team in goals or had the highest batting average on my baseball team. Nowadays, I’m able to play around with friends and family, usually without making a fool of myself. 

You want a talented artist? I’m not the guy. 

My drawing and painting skills are almost nonexistent. Maybe someday I could improve them, but I don’t see myself having the time to do so anytime in the near future. 

You want a great musician? I’m not the guy. 

I took lessons for two different instruments when I was in school. Both times, just as I was starting to get somewhat good at them, my family moved and I didn’t get to pick them back up. Maybe if I had been able to stick with them, this one would be different. 

You want a hot stud that will turn the ladies’ heads when they walk into a room? I’m definitely not the guy. 

I know I’m no “insert name of Hollywood heartthrob here” and I never will be. I’m well aware that most women don’t find me very attractive. But, you know what? I don’t care. As long as my wife still thinks I look good, that’s all that matters to me. Her opinion means more to me than every other woman on the planet combined.

I also don’t care that I’m not the guy on any of those others either. Sure, it’d be nice to be a big time athlete or a rock star, but I’m not upset that I’m not. You see, if I was any of those other things, I wouldn’t be me. 

I’d rather be me.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged .

11 comments on “I’m not the guy.

  1. djmatticus says:

    I’m glad you are you.

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    I’m glad you are you. You are kind, funny, thoughtful, funny, a brilliant writer…oh and did I mention funny? I’m so happy that we crossed paths.

    • My dear Jaded, I’d love to say all kinds of nice things about you too, but you’re a Michigan fan so…

      Just kidding 😉

      You are wonderful, smart, and a great friend. I’m very happy we crossed paths too.

  3. Scott says:

    You’re also the guy whose finger should never be pulled.

  4. Much more fun to be yourself than to try to be someone else anyway.

Revis "......."

