Worth It

Over two weeks ago, I did my second contest to see if anyone could guess what my character’s name DICO stood for. As a prize for someone who guessed correctly, I was willing to send them a signed copy of my book.

There were a grand total of zero guesses.

At the moment I’m torn between feeling relieved that I don’t have to pay shipping costs and feeling insulted because nobody thought it was worth it to try to guess what DICO was an acronym for. I think I’ll stick right down the middle on this one.

While I was thinking about the previous paragraph, the phrase “worth it” stuck out to me. For quite a while now, I’ve wondered if it was worth it to keep this blog going.Don’t get me wrong, in my time blogging, I’ve met some really great people. In fact, it’s because of the awesome people that I’ve met here that I haven’t done this post sooner. I just don’t know if I have it in me anymore to keep doing this.

When I first started blogging, it was just a way for me to get thoughts out of my head. I never actually thought anyone would ever read any of the inane things that I put up on the screen. That changed when I joined my brother’s blog. His words brought in readers by the hundreds. Since some of those people also accidentally read my stuph, I got some readers too. It was fun. I was able to comment and interact with other bloggers. It made me like doing it.

Once I broke off on my own again, my readership died down, like I knew it would, but there were still people I talked to on a regular basis. Then, my life happened. I started having less and less time to write. I didn’t have enough time to go to other people’s blogs and read what they had to say. I started commenting less, so they started commenting less. Finally, I’m where I am now: wondering why it’s not fun anymore.

The only answer I can come up with is that I miss the interaction with my fellow bloggers. However, it’s not really fair to expect other people to comment on my words when I don’t have the time to comment on theirs.

I also have almost no time to write new things for the blog anyway. Currently, I am working on three different books. You read that correctly. Three books. While most of my writing work is done on one of them, I still have two others that I am actively writing on. Couple that with all of my day-to-day activities like work and spending time with my wife and daughter, it leaves me almost no free time. Unfortunately, that means things like DICO, or anything else I might write for the blog, gets pushed to the backburner.

Which brings me back to the original question: Is it worth it to keep this blog going?

Honestly? I don’t know. I may take some time off and see how I feel then. As soon as I figure it out, I’ll be sure to let you know. Regardless of my decision, blogging has been an overall positive experience for me, and I couldn’t have done it without all you awesome people out there. Thank you for reading my craziness.

13 comments on “Worth It

  1. djmatticus says:

    I know how you feel and where you are coming from. I’ve nearly walked away from the kingdom twice now, but keep getting pulled back in.
    That being said, I have no posts currently scheduled and no plans to write for my blog in the immediate future. So, what does that mean? Only time will tell.

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    Do what you have to. I apologize for not making a guess. It would be so obviously wrong. Im sure that I would hurt myself laughing at the answer…or lately maybe just smiling. I’d miss you if you went. Your priorities are spot on though.

  3. ksbeth says:

    i’ve had my ups and downs at times, too. i think we have to consider why we write and how they whole thing makes us feel. at the end of the day, is it joy or is it work? each of us is different in this –

    • I used to get excited about writing my blog posts. Now, it’s “Oh, yeah. I should probably write something for my blog.” So, I definitely understand what you mean. It has started feeling very job-like lately.

  4. bardictale says:

    Good luck, whatever you choose. Life has a way of giving you many things to think and do, and if you have the choice to not do something you don’t enjoy…well, I’d probably go for it, to be honest.
    Have fun and much luck with the books and your daughter^^

  5. Interesting how this post has had the most comments and interactions so far, Revis.

    You do what you’ve gotta do, and if you come back, I’ll probably be here waiting. I’m just really sporadic at reading just at the moment. (Actually, if you and the Jester are taking a break, I might just be able to catch up a bit with everyone else. 😉 )

    Take care of yourself, and of Mrs Revis and Baby E.

  6. […] ago, when I did my “Worth It” post, I told you all that I was working on 3 different stories in some phase of the writing […]

Revis "......."

