My Team

As most of you are aware of, this Sunday is the Super Bowl. I’m usually excited about the Super Bowl regardless of who is playing, but this year, I’m even more excited. My Carolina Panthers are playing in it.

One of the questions I get most often when people find out that I like the Panthers is: Why do you like Carolina? You’re not from there.

I’ve said it before on this blog, and I’ll say it again, just because you’re from, or live in, a certain area doesn’t mean you have to root for the local team. That’s not how it works.

Since Carolina came into existence in 1995, and I was 17 at the time, I obviously haven’t been a fan of theirs my entire life. Before that time, my favorite teams, of any sport, were basically the teams my favorite players played for. Back then, I could actually watch basketball without getting bored and I rooted for the Spurs because I liked David Robinson. I also watched a lot more baseball back when I was younger and I cheered for the Oakland A’s because I liked Mark McGwire (in my defense, this was when I was too young to know what steroids were. Although, the fact that he was more ripped than the average comic book hero  should’ve been a tip off that something wasn’t right).

Nowadays, I don’t care about basketball. If I did, I’d probably root for the Sacramento Kings, since that’s my friend Sac-Town’s team. I also don’t watch a whole lot of baseball anymore. When I do, I cheer for the Cincinnati Reds, Mrs Revis’s favorite team.

As far as football goes, when I was growing up,  my favorite team was the New York Giants. I loved Lawrence Taylor. I know I watched some beforehand, because I liked them before the game started, but the first game I can actually remember watching was the Giants vs the Bills in the Scott Norwood “wide right” Super Bowl (also memorable because of the greatest rendition of the National Anthem ever, sung by Whitney Houston). My team won and I stuck with the Giants as my team for the next few years. Then, Lawrence Taylor started getting in trouble off the field with drugs. I wasn’t about to stick with the Giants after that.  I didn’t really like anyone else on the team. Now, I needed a new team.

That’s around when the Panthers came into existence. They came into the league the same year that the Jaguars did. When I heard that expansion teams were coming out, I decided that I was going to make one of them my favorite team and stick with it. So, what made me choose Carolina over Jacksonville?

To be honest, it’s because I thought Carolina’s uniforms were cooler.

And I stayed true to my word. I’ve been a Panthers fan ever since.

And that, my friends, is how I became a Panthers fan. GO CAROLINA!!!!!!

7 comments on “My Team

  1. bardictale says:

    Good luck, then. I hope it’ll be a well-played game tomorrow.

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    Go Panthers.

  3. The Hook says:

    Hope you had a blast, Revis.

Revis "......."

