Us, Many Years Ago

I decided to take a little break from posting because Thanksgiving happened to fall on my normal posting day. Besides, I had four straight days off and I wanted to cram as much family time into those days as I possibly could. We had dinner down at my father-in-law’s house. We ate, laughed, and I watched my Carolina Panthers absolutely destroy the Cowboys. In fact, it was pretty close to a perfect day.

Also during those four days, my brother’s twin sons (Baby A and Baby B, if you didn’t already know that) came down to my house, bringing their copy of the latest Madden game with them. Despite the fact that they’re teenagers, they displayed enough tact to refrain from coming out and saying that they only came down there because they wanted to use my Xbox Live, but I’m still pretty sure that was the biggest reason. Of course, I’m pretty sure they also wanted someone besides each other to play against, so that probably had something to do with it. I’m not complaining, however. I’ll take any time they’re willing to give me. Pretty soon hanging out with Uncle Revis isn’t going to be cool anymore.

Unfortunately for them, they came down a day or two after my Xbox Live subscription ended and I hadn’t had a chance to buy a new card yet. So, they were stuck playing offline.

It has been many years since I’ve played Madden regularly. The last Madden game I’ve played more than one game on was Madden 12. Anything after that was an exhibition against friends or a demo game. Considering these two play that game all the time, I was expecting to get crushed. Surprisingly, I did pretty good. I split the games against Baby B, but I won all of the ones I played against Baby A. He was not happy about it. Especially the first game. He was winning 28-7 at halftime. I ended up winning 42-38. 21 of my points came in the last two minutes. I scored a touchdown, recovered an onside kick, scored another touchdown, recovered another onside kick, and scored a third touchdown.

It was during this time, and during the subsequent games, that I saw how animated the two of them get when they’re playing video games. Seeing them like that was like going back in time to when me and my brothers were around that age. Granted, we played fighting games (like Mortal Kombat) or first person shooter games (like GoldenEye for Nintendo 64….that’s right. Be jealous) against each other more than football, but it was practically the same.

Now, I will freely admit that I’m the worst at video games out of the three of us. There may be a game here or there that I might excel at, but, for the most part, both my older and younger brother are better than I am at video games. Back then, I couldn’t stand losing to either of my brothers, so, since they were better than me, I spent a lot of time pissed off. I was a bad sore loser. Nowadays, it doesn’t bother me all that much. I still have my moments where I shout at the game console, but they’re few and far between.

So, when I came back to beat Baby A, he was acting just like I did when I was his age. He was crying foul every time something didn’t go his way. He accused the game of cheating (something I used to do all the time). He claimed that the video game was part of a vast conspiracy aiming to keep him from winning (something else I used to do all the time. I still say it occasionally now, but usually just for comedic effect).

Baby B, on the other hand, is very much like his father used to be when he’s playing: when he’s losing (which isn’t very often), he’s slightly annoyed, but when he’s winning, he’s cocky. He has a “Yeah, I’m winning. That’s the way it should be” attitude. When I pointed it out to him, he said he wasn’t cocky, he was confident. That sounds an awful lot like something his father would’ve said at that age.

All in all, watching them play the game took me back to a time when my brothers and I would be yelling at the TV, and each other, while playing GoldenEye and our mom would pound on the door. “What are you guys doing in there,” she’d shout.

“We’re just killing each other,” we’d reply.

“Well, do it quieter!”

Good times… good times….

5 comments on “Us, Many Years Ago

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    Glad you all had fun.

  2. That is way cool but also a bit scary to think that A & B are you and a certain storm trooper all over again!!

Revis "......."

