A Day Late and A Lot of Dollars Short

First of all, I’d like to congratulate all of the people who have been able to do the post-a-day thing this month. I don’t know how you do it. Hell, I’m only posting once a week and I can’t even do that right. This post should’ve been done a couple of days ago.

There are a few reasons for my tardiness. First of all, I got sucked into reading Vengeance of the Iron Dwarf by R.A. Salvatore. The story itself is a mash-up of recycled stories from previous books in the series (which is bound to happen eventually. After all, it is the 27th book in the Dark Elf saga), but he writes so well that it doesn’t bother you and you still can’t put it down.

Secondly, as many of my longtime readers know, I’ve had back problems for years. Over the past year, or so, my back has been a lot better. Sure, I’d still have bad days, but they were fairly infrequent. On Monday night, back pain reared its ugly head at me again. The really crappy part of it is that I didn’t do anything to aggravate it. It just happened.

I was laying on the floor, coloring in Baby E’s coloring books with her. When I went to get up off the ground, I was barely on my feet before almost falling right back over from the pain.

Normally, the pain is located in the lower left part of my back. This time, it was the entire upper part, mostly right between my shoulder blades. Every time I moved, it sent a shot of pain down my spine. Needless to say, I missed work on Tuesday, spending most of my time laying on my couch trying to move as little as possible.

On Wednesday, my back felt a little better, so I was going to try to go in to work. By the time I got to my mom’s to drop Baby E off, I was in too much pain again. When you drive, you’re constantly having to turn your head from side to side to look at traffic, and every time I did it, it felt like someone was stabbing me. So, I ended up calling in again.

I was able to get into the doctor, who told me that I was suffering from back spasms and that all of the muscles in my back were way tighter than they should’ve been. She gave me a nice cocktail of steroids, an anti-inflammatory, and a muscle relaxer. It hasn’t taken all of the pain away, but it was good enough to let me function at work on Thursday and Friday. Hopefully, I’ll be able to do a whole lot of nothing this weekend and rest it up.

The third thing that kept me from getting my post done on time was that I was wanting to do something specific and it didn’t work out.

I used to do a series of posts called Versus, where I’d pick two fictional characters and I would choose which one would win in a fight/contest. It’s been a long time since I’ve done one of those, so I wanted to bring it back. The problem was that I couldn’t think of any matchups that sounded intriguing enough for me to do.

It used to be that I would come up with matchup ideas from talking to a couple of guys at work. Unfortunately, neither of them work there anymore. They were replaced by a couple of older ladies who look at me funny if I try to talk about stuff like that. That leaves me with having to come up with ideas on my own, and, so far, that hasn’t worked out too well.

Maybe I’ll come up with some by the time I need to post next. If any of you have any ideas for a Versus matchup, feel free to leave it in the comments.

7 comments on “A Day Late and A Lot of Dollars Short

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    That sucks about your back…I hope it isn’t long term.

  2. Scott says:

    You need a new back.

  3. I’m glad your doctor was able to give you something to help.

    How about Bones dressed as Wonderwoman vs. actual Wonderwoman?

Revis "......."

