The Wrong Bad Guy

I’m sure some of you may have seen the video that someone put out arguing that Daniel-san is actually the bad guy in The Karate Kid and Johnny is the good guy. It is an interesting theory, and the guy had a couple of good points, but I don’t buy that one.It did make me think about various movie villains and if there was an argument to be made for them being the good guy. I came up blank for a while, but I finally got one.

I think the reason it took me so long to find this one is because it’s a movie that I don’t like. In fact, if it was up to me, I’d never have watched this movie in the first place. Both Mrs. Revis and Baby E like it, however, so I’ve been forced to watch it more times than I’m comfortable admitting to. Of course, there’s a chance that someone else has made this argument before me, but since I’ve never seen it, I’m going to say that I’m the one who came up with it.

What’s the movie, you ask? It’s right on the other side of the “Continue Reading” button.

The movie in question is The Wizard of Oz.

Some of you may be thinking, “But, Revis, you can’t actually be about to argue that the Wicked Witch was the good guy in that movie!” Actually, yes, I am. Let’s start at the beginning, looking at the events from the perspective of the Wicked Witch.

Some little girl came out of nowhere and killed her sister. Instead of being arrested for murder, the townspeople break out into song, celebrating that her sister was now dead. The Wicked Witch shows up to gather her deceased sister’s belongings. Not only does the killer steal her sister’s property, but when the witch tries to reclaim it, they threaten to kill her too.

The killer goes along and gathers herself a gang while on her way to try to skip town. The Wicked Witch tries to make them all fall asleep, so she can get the shoes that way, when she could’ve easily killed them. Instead, she took the high road and tried a non-lethal solution. It didn’t work.

Then, the killer and gang come into the Wicked Witch’s land to assassinate her and take something else of hers. She sends people to capture the trespassers. The killer is captured, while her gang are stopped from following. The Wicked Witch, once again, gives the killer a chance to simply give back the shoes, which are rightfully the witch’s to begin with. Instead of giving up what she stole, the killer waits until her gang comes and rescues her. The vicious little girl kills the Wicked Witch in the escape attempt and takes of with the witch’s magic broomstick.

So, people think Dorothy is the hero of that movie? She killed two people and stole their stuff. How is that heroic? It’s not. Dorothy is a cold-blooded murderer.

All the Wicked Witch wanted were her sister’s shoes, which should have gone to her after her sister passed. You can’t blame her for wanting something that was legally hers. If she truly was a “wicked” witch, she would’ve killed Dorothy as soon as she first saw her. Hell, a lot of non-wicked people would’ve immediately killed the person who had murdered their sibling. If nothing else, the Wicked Witch was heroic, if only for the amount of restraint she showed by not having the flying monkeys drop Dorothy from hundreds of feet in the air.

10 comments on “The Wrong Bad Guy

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    Reason umpteen to infinite why I love ya. Solidly presented case. Dorothy is guilty. I’ve never liked that story either.

  2. Scott says:

    I never did like that bitch…

  3. djmatticus says:

    I haven’t read the book “Wicked” so I’m not sure if it follows the same story line, but the musical “Wicked” definitely presents the Wicked Witch as anything but. It barely touches on the story of Dorothy, but the Witch is not the bad guy at all.

  4. I like this reasoning. It’s good to see the story in a new light!

Revis "......."

