Bleh

A few months ago, I told you all about a story I was going to write. It was to be written in script form in hopes that,  one day, I could get it turned into a comic book. I was very excited about it. There was a plan and everything.

Originally, I was wanting to take an already established hero that I thought was either, in my opinion, not very good or not very powerful and write a story that turned them into a badass. It was just supposed to be a little fanfic for me to post on this here blog.

When I couldn’t think of one I wanted to do, I decided to reach back and pick one that I had made up years ago that I thought would work. As the story came together in my mind, I thought that since I was using my own characters, I might as well try to get it published. I would love to have one of my stories published in a comic book. So, that’s when I started writing it in script form.

(I know that anyone who has read my old posts would know all that already, but it seemed like less work to summarize those posts than to link them for the people that haven’t. Sorry.)

I began writing my story soon after. It was coming along fairly quickly considering I was only writing it on my phone during breaks at work. When I was about three-quarters of the way done with the first issue, something happened.

My phone didn’t save it correctly.

One day I was close to finishing. The next day, there were only four pages in the file.

Dammit!!!

I tried for the longest time to recover it, but it was gone. There was nothing else to do except start over from where it left off. So, I started writing again.

This time, I wasn’t as excited. The further along I got, the more I realized something that made me not want to finish writing it: I hate writing in script form.

I hate hate hate hate hate hate hate it. It is a loathsome experience that I never want to have to go through again.

This leaves me with a little bit of a dilemma. I still like my story and want to see it published, but how do I accomplish that if I don’t write a script for it?

The only things I could think of were either A: I could write it out normally and have an artist come through after and out it into comic book form, or B: I could draw it myself (stick figure style because that’s about the limit of my artistic talents) and have an artist do a much better rendering once I’m done.

I don’t know what to do. I think for now I may just write it out story style and wait to see if there’s someone out there that I can find that I would want to draw it. Then, I’d take it from there.

P.S. Brett Booth, if by some chance you happen to read this, it would be a dream come true to see you draw one of my stories.

12 comments on “Bleh

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    I hope it works out. You have such talent. To not have others see it is a waste, dear Revis.

  2. bardictale says:

    Good luck! May it work out, and work out well.

  3. BunKaryudo says:

    I’d offer to help you out, but I’m certain my stick figures would be anatomically even less likely than yours. 🙂

  4. My drawing is crap and I’m the wrong side of the Atlantic to be of much use. However, I hope you manage to get it finished, even if it’s just an outline of the plot for when you find an artist. It’s cruel to others if you ahve a talent and don’t use it.

Revis "......."

