My Posting Day

For a while now, I’ve been doing all of my writing on the works of fiction that I’m hoping to publish. When I first got my smartphone, I had hoped to be able to come to the blog more by doing it on my phone while I was at work. As you may have noticed, that really hasn’t happened. My breaks at work are filled with me writing more on my stories. On the bright side, I’ve gotten better at typing on my phone. The downside is that I’m still not posting very often.

I’m hoping to change that by having a day that I dedicate solely for writing on this here blog. Since I did a post last Thursday, and I’m doing one today (also a Thursday), it looks like Thursday is it. So, from now on, I will be putting up at least one post every Thursday (hopefully). There may be a day or two in between when I can squeak out enough time to write something else for you all. I wouldn’t hold my breath on that one if I were you, though.Since that isn’t really enough to qualify as a whole post in my book, I’ll go on a little bit about what occurred for me today. I took the day off to go to the doctor. I wasn’t sick or anything, I just needed to see her so she could refill my blood pressure medication. Of course, I also had to have blood drawn to check my cholesterol and a few other things, but I won’t hear back on that today.

You’d think that having to give blood would have been the most uncomfortable part of my trip. It wasn’t. What I find the most uncomfortable is something that they do every time I go in there: when they take my blood pressure.

For some of you, this may not seem like a big deal. It is to me, especially when it’s a woman taking it (which has been the case for about 95% of the times I’ve had it taken). This is uncomfortable for me because when they’re taking it, there’s only two things I can do: I can watch what they’re doing (which makes it look like I’m staring at her chest), or I can look away (which makes it look like I’m going out of my way to not stare at her chest).

No matter which way I go, I could end up offending someone.

Maybe next time I’ll just have Mrs. Revis take it. I’m allowed to stare at her chest.

8 comments on “My Posting Day

  1. Serins says:

    um, well you could always just talk to the nice lady taking your blood. In this case though I don’t think she is offended. 😉

    • Well, my wife (who does it for a living), says that they’re too busy with what they’re doing to notice what a patient is doing while they’re taking it. I don’t know. It still makes me feel kind of creepy.

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    This is awesome. High blood pressure isn’t. Been hospitalized for it bc it was in stroke worthy range. Please take care, dear Revis. If Thursday is your post day, I’m here.

  3. The Cutter says:

    Odd. I don’t know if I’ve ever stared at a nurse’s chest while my blood was being taken.

  4. I can’t watch them taking blood from me, but I can watch my blood pressure being taken. I’m not keen on the whole losing-circulation-in-my-arm side effect though, it makes my hand feel really funny for a few minutes afterwards.

    I think Mrs Revis has a point, so just do whatever works for you.

Revis "......."

