Ultimate Comic Book Team

The guys I used to work with aren’t really around anymore. Both of them still work here, but they’re in jobs that don’t really let us BS as much as we used to. Every once in awhile,  we’ll be able to come up with a nonsensical question that would lead to hours of pointless debate. However, it’s not an every day thing anymore.
The most recent attempt came last week when talking about the Avengers. That led to a discussion about the team members, which turned into a discussion about why certain members shouldn’t be on the team. Predictably,  it then became an argument about who should be on the team. It finally settled on ” What is your ultimate comic book team”?

The rules of the game are quite simple.
Rule 1: There are only five members per team.
Rule 2: Only characters from superhero books are allowed (as cool as it might be to think about an Avenger teaming up with a Jedi, we’re going to stick with a spandex only policy).
Rule 3: No villains. Maybe at a later date, I’ll do a post about who would be in my “Legion of Doom”, but this one is a good guy list.

That’s it for the rules. Now, with that being said, how you come up with your list is entirely up to you. One guy at work picked all of the guys he thought were the most powerful. Another picked guys based on certain skills the character possessed. Personally, I think that is too much work. My list is the five characters that I like the best.
They might not win in a fight against the people from other lists, but they’ll definitely be cooler. So without further doodoo (I think I’m getting that phrase right…..), here are my five members:
1: Daredevil – Despite having what most people consider weak powers, DD is still a badass.
2: Nightwing – This is going to be the pre-52 Nightwing. I’ve read a little bit of the New 52 stuff but it’s nowhere near as good. Plus, from what I’ve heard he’s not even Nightwing anymore. They turned Dick Grayson into the D.C. equivalent of an Agent of SHIELD. I hope that’s not true because that sounds pretty lame.
3: Backlash – I’m sure a lot of you won’t know who this is. That’s ok. If you’re interested, you can read up on his history and powers on his Wikipedia page. Honestly, I only started reading his book because of the amazing artwork by Brett Booth, but I kept reading because he’s awesome. Unfortunately, he was kind of phased out after D.C. bought out WildStorm. As far as I know, he hasn’t been used in years. Although, Brett Booth did some issues of Nightwing in his New 52 run. That was awesome.
4: Chamber – Chamber is a mutant who started off in Generation X. When that book ended, he got folded over I to the X-Men. As for what they have him doing now, I have no clue. All I know is he was badass in Generation X. He took down Omega Red by himself after Red took out the rest of the team; including veteran X-Men Banshee and White Queen.
5: Deadpool – This is the toughest one for me. Not because I don’t like him (he’s definitely in my top 5 comic book characters), but because of the no villain rule. As anyone who has ever read Deadpool knows, he has been both a hero and villain during his time gracing the pages. After some thought, I decided that he has spent more time being a good guy.

Well maybe not a good guy, but at least not a bad one.

Looking at my list wouldn’t inspire too much confidence in most comic book geeks. After all, none of them are extremely powerful. Out of those with powers Chamber is probably considered the most powerful. They can all fight, though. With the exception of Chamber the others are considered good martial artists.
Would my team stand a chance in a fight against the J.L.A. or the Avengers? Hell no. Superman or the Hulk could take my entire team out by themselves without breaking a sweat.
I still think my team is cooler anyways…..

So, who would be your 5????

6 comments on “Ultimate Comic Book Team

  1. I really don’t know enough about the characters available to create my own list, but it would be cool to see them in a fight.

  2. bardictale says:

    “Grayson” isn’t too bad a series; granted, I’d preferred the pre-New 52 Nightwing.

    As for the team, it would depend on the function that they’ll need to serve. Nightwing will be on almost any team I put together, since he’s a good leader and gets along with almost anyone.

Revis "......."

