A New Story?

I have an idea for a new story. The problem is that I’m not sure I want to write it. It’s not that I don’t like my story idea, or that I don’t think I can pull it off. I just don’t know if I want to put time and effort into something that, unless a miracle happens, will never come into fruition.
The story idea came about when a couple of us were talking at work. A question came up that got us all thinking: if you could write any comic book, what would it be?
There are lots of comic books that it would be cool to write for: Daredevil, Nightwing, or Wolverine. The more I thought about it, though,  the less I wanted to do those characters. I love those characters and I’m not sure I’d be able to do them justice.
So, then I thought “Who would I write, then?”
The answer I came up with was…… nothing.

I want to write a comic book story, but I don’t know who I want to use as my main character. What I’d really like to do is something similar to what Kevin Smith did on his Daredevil run years ago. He used one of Spiderman’s lame villains and turned him into the one who almost took Daredevil down. I loved it. He took a bad guy who was an afterthought to most people and made him into a badass.

That is what I want to do…. except with a good guy instead of a bad guy.

I want to take a hero who nobody really cares about, or thinks is very good, and write a story that elevates them to badass stature. I want people to think to themselves, “I didn’t think he’d be able to make (insert hero’s name here) cool, but he did it.”

There is a problem with this, not including the whole ‘I don’t know who to use’ thing. I haven’t read a new comic in years, so I have no idea what the hell is going on anymore. My luck, I’d come up with a story that contradicts something that just happened in an actual canon story. While I don’t think anything I write will ever be published by a major comic book company, I don’t want to guarantee it by screwing up their continuity.

I’d still like to attempt this. I may fail miserably, but I’d still like to try it. Do any of you have any ideas for heroes I could write a story about? It can be from either Marvel or DC, although I’m much more familiar with the Marvel universe. Also, don’t worry if I’ve never heard of them. I’ll just Google them….

What do you think, loyal readers? Is there a less-than-super hero that you’d like to see me turn into an ass kicker? Let me know in the comments below.

3 comments on “A New Story?

  1. Sorry I can’t help you out with this one Revis! Comic books are a rarity in a Religious Community, for some reason.

Revis "......."

