DC Shows

This is actually a post that I’ve wanted to do for a while. I’ve held off on it, however, as I wanted to wait until the two new shows had a chance to get at least half a season in. I didn’t think it would be very fair to judge them before then. I’ll go ahead and start with the first show to air, which is now in its third season, Arrow.

When this show first came out, I really didn’t want anything to do with it. I hadn’t really seen, or read, much with the Green Arrow in it, but what I did see didn’t really interest me. This will probably sound ridiculous, as Green Arrow came out at least ten years earlier, but he always seemed to me to be a lamer version of Hawkeye. Hawkeye’s arrows were more technological and badass. Plus, the Green Arrow was walking around in the movie costume from Robin Hood: Men in Tights.

After the second season of Arrow ended, one of the guys I worked with told me that I needed to watch it. I told him everything I said above. He admitted that he didn’t really like Green Arrow that much either, but that Arrow was a very good show. Still, I was leery about watching it. Finally, I agreed to give it a shot.


It was actually about a month or so before I watched any of it. I kind of forgot about it until I was looking for something to watch one night and ran across it on Netflix. So, I decided that I’d give it the four episode test (I came up with the four episode test when talking to people about Lost. I’d tell people to watch the first four episodes of Lost, which is the equivalent of one disc on DVD. If they don’t like it by the end of those four episodes, they won’t like it). I watched the first four episodes….then the next four…and the four after that…

It continued until I caught up on both seasons just in time for the start of the third season. I didn’t think it was possible, but they made the Green Arrow interesting to me. Granted, there are a few things that I’m not crazy about, such as their habit of using Batman characters (Black Canary, Ra’s Al Ghul, Huntress), but overall, it’s an awesome show. If you haven’t seen it yet, I suggest you give it your own four episode test.
Speaking of Batman….
The next show is Gotham. The Bat Universe is the only DC sphere that I have an above average knowledge about, so I was pretty excited about this show. It started off so great too. Lately, however, it seems like the further along it goes, the less interested in it I am. The main story isn’t bad, but some of the side stories are horrible. Such as the whole Fish Mooney story they have going on right now. I’ve heard that Jada said she wasn’t coming back for season two, and, I’ve got to admit, that would make the show so much better. Her character’s story is atrocious.

There are some good things about the show. Some of the little shoutouts they do are pretty cool, such as introducing Nightwing’s parents. I think, from now on, I’m just going to fast forward through any scene that Jada’s in.

The final show I’m going to touch on is The Flash. This show also started off really cool, then kind of started going downhill. It’s not the overall story, or the characters, I have a problem with. What I don’t like is that half of the season, so far, has been spent setting up the Firestorm spinoff series. Before the Flash got his own show, he got one episode of Arrow. That, I didn’t have a problem with. After all, it was only one episode, and it was in the show’s second season, not the first. It’s ridiculous how much time they’ve spent on someone who, after they get their own series, will only be a guest star every once in a while… if that.

(Some of you may want to point out that they’ve been setting up the Atom on Arrow this season. I will say that it hasn’t bothered me as much as the whole Firestorm thing for two reasons. One: they haven’t dedicated entire episodes to the Atom story arc like they have with Firestorm. I think there was one episode where it took up about half the show, but, for the most part, it’s usually just a few scenes an episode. And two: it’s the show’s third season. The first season is supposed to be about establishing characters and setting an overall story. They’ve already done that in Arrow. They haven’t really had much of a chance to do that in Flash yet.)

When they aren’t doing Firestorm episodes, I actually like the Flash. They’ve done a pretty good job of building up to a story that can keep the show going for a while. From the looks of it, they’ve ended Firestorm story, so, as long as they stick to that, I’m looking forward to the rest of the season. Hopefully, they can keep it going.

Revis "......."

