Too Much Doo Doo

My daughter has been on a kick lately. She’s been wanting to watch nothing except for one particular cartoon. I used to like it. Well, maybe not like it. It wasn’t bad. I used to not hate it, anyways. Now, it’s annoying as hell.

For the past couple of weeks, it’s been nothing but “Doo Doo”. For those of you who don’t know what that is, that’s what Baby E calls Scooby Doo. Although, now she also sometimes calls him “Dooby Doo”. (Feel free to insert pot joke here….)

My wife got her a DVD set of the original cartoons. It started off cute. Baby E would try to sing along to the theme song. The guy would start off with “Scooby Dooby Doo, where are you?” and she would sing, “Dooby Doo, are you?” over and over again.

When I watched those old episodes again the first time, it really didn’t bother me. Unlike some of the other cartoons I watched when I was younger, this one was pretty much the same as I remembered it. Usually, when I watch a show from my childhood, I end up disappointed because the show sucks now that I’m older and more mature. (Feel free to stick your “You’re not mature, Revis” jokes up your asses. You’re welcome for proving your point.)

We even started letting her watch the newer ones that are on Netflix. These are actually kind of creepy. Shaggy and Velma hook up, but Shaggy is afraid to let Scooby know about it because Scooby will think he’s cheating on him. Then, when Scooby does find out, Velma and Scooby force Shaggy to choose between them and he picks Scooby. That’s right. They apparently expect you to believe that a horny teenage boy would choose his dog over a girl. They also expect you to believe that Fred would rather build traps for the bad guys than get some from Daphne, who is throwing herself at him……what a bunch of shit.

“It’s just a kid’s cartoon, Revis. Aren’t you overthinking it a little?”

Probably. Once you’ve seen each episode three or four times, though, your mind starts to wander.

Oh well. I guess it could be worse. At least she doesn’t watch Barney…..

9 comments on “Too Much Doo Doo

  1. Serins says:

    🙂 My daugther does not like Scooby Doo so much. She will go on over Tom and Jerry, which is still pretty much the same it’s always been. But unlike you we don’t have that on DVD so, she only gets to watch it when it is actually playing, and they do tend to play the same cartoon over and over….

    Really I don’t mind cartoons but when you’ve see the same one a few times it gets irritating. And forget about us Adults getting to watch what we want to… plus forget about her watching alone…

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    For some.reason doo doo (not to be confused with poo poo) never annoyed me til the movies came out. Then, game over. Now you’re saying Velma and Shaggy are an item? My stomach is turning cuz in tvland every show with a guy and girl must have a hook up…ugh! Fuck that shit…(sorry baby E cover your eyes).

  3. eltajones says:

    I swear, my husband goes into conspiracy theory mode after watching certain cartoons over and over with our baby, too! By the way, I love the title of this article. Not what i expected at all lol

  4. I came back today and re-read this article. Lol. Still funny

  5. I would imagine that anything on repeat would soon get wearing. It won’t be long before she changes it for something else. Just be glad it’s not Bob the Builder!

Revis "......."

