An Almost Versus

You all have helped me come up with some ideas for my Versus series (Thank you for that). However, most of the ideas I used came from discussions I had with my coworkers. We’d always be talking about random, off the wall things and come up with the matchups.

If you haven’t noticed, I haven’t done a Versus post lately. That’s for a couple of reasons. One, I haven’t had as much time to write as I used to. And two, things have changed at work.

There used to be three of us out in the warehouse. Because we all had similar geekdoms, it was easy for us to fall into our debates and come up with new Versus ideas. A while back, they moved one of the other guys to a different department. The ideas slowed down as we rarely had any time together anymore. Then, a couple of months ago, our company doubled our workload. Now, none of us really has any time to talk about these kinds of things anymore.

That leaves me with nothing but time to myself. I have tried coming up with new Versus matchups on my own. So far, it hasn’t worked out too well.

The other day I was thinking about what would be a really badass matchup. Well, I thought to myself, who are two really badass people? The first one, the one that immediately popped into my head, was easy. Now, all I needed to do was come up with someone to put him up against. So, I thought…..and I thought….and I thought….

Got it! There’s someone I can put him up against. Ok, now to start writing. Wait a minute…. I don’t think that’ll work…

When I do these versus matchups, I try to make it characters who are known, maybe not to everyone, but the majority of the people who might read this. You may not have read/watched whatever this character was in, but you’ve probably at least heard of them. This matchup wouldn’t work because, other than myself and my brother, I don’t know anyone else who I know would be able to have an informed opinion on this matchup. As far as I know, we’re the only two who have read both of the novel series that these guys are from. Damn. I can’t do it.

Turns out, it’s for the best that I couldn’t do it. The more I thought about it, it would’ve been a fairly one-sided fight, anyways. When it comes to pure badassery, there’s only one person that comes into my mind: Windsor Horne Lockwood III.

For those of you who don’t know, Windsor Horne Lockwood III (or Win, to those who know him) is from the Myron Bolitar series of books by Harlan Coben. Win is a pure badass because he is basically a mixture of Batman and the Punisher. He has Batman’s money and hand-to-hand fighting skill, but the Punisher’s morality, views on justice, and itchy trigger finger. You add that all together and you get most badass character ever, especially when you take into account that he’s hilarious, as well. In Deal Breaker (the first book in the series. Go read it right now. Seriously), he was approached by a hooker that he considered ugly and she offered him her services. He replied, “I would rather have my semen sucked out with a catheter.” Awesome.

Outside of a galaxy far, far away (I also try to keep my matchups based on characters situated in similar worlds. I’m not always successful, but I try), the only person I came up with who is even in the vicinity of Win’s badassery is John Rain. John Rain is the main character in Barry Eisler’s series of books. He is an assassin-for-hire, specializing in murdering people to make it look like his victims died of natural causes. On top of being technically savvy enough to pull these assassinations off, Rain excels in both judo and armed combat, making him pretty badass. As badass as he is, though, he’s not in Win’s league.

So, now I will appeal to you again, my friends. I need your help with new matchup ideas. If you have an idea for one that you’d like to see me do, leave it in the form below. And, thanks for tuning in to this week’s almost version of Versus.

9 comments on “An Almost Versus

  1. El Guapo says:

    Perry sure my first suggestion in no way fulfills the parameters.
    But still…

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    Hmm. Learning a bit more about Win makes me want to read that series. Coben was on my list to read but moved up a bit, due to Win’s badassery. Thanks.

  3. I’ve sent some completely random suggestions, which may or may not be of use! Feel free to ignore.

    • I won’t ignore them. I may not use them, but that might just be because I’m not familiar with one of the characters you’ve mentioned. I’ve gotten a few featuring people that I’ve never seen/read before.

Revis "......."

