And…….

Every day for the past few weeks, it has been the same thing. I’ll think of something to write about. Then, I’ll sit down in front of the computer. And…….

Nothing.

My mind goes blank. I can’t get anything out. I sit there staring at the screen until my mind hits the button to change the channel.

Once that happens, I’ll leave the blog and look over the Facebook posts I just looked over 5 minutes before. Or, I’ll browse the stories on NFL.com, even though it’s the offseason and not much is happening. Or, I’ll go on IMDB and look up who provides the voices for the characters on Baby E’s cartoons because I swear I’ve heard them before (Most of the time, I’m right about this, including where I heard their voice before).

No matter how hard I try, I just can’t seem to get anything out…..until now…..when I’m writing about not being able to write…..WTF????

This entry was posted in Stuph.

35 comments on “And…….

  1. Mental Mama says:

    Maybe when you have the ideas write them down so when you have time you’ll have ideas to work with? Just a thought. Good luck. šŸ™‚

    • I’m a “moody” writer. I have to be in the mood to write about something in order to work on it. Most of the time, it’s not a problem. Lately, though, it has been.

      • Mental Mama says:

        I get that, 100%. I’ve been writing stuff when I am in the right mood and either scheduling it for later or writing in a Google doc that I can copy and paste out of when it’s ready. I wish you the best of luck, writing “cramps” are annoying.

  2. Paul says:

    So, you’re hearing voices, eh? Hmmm. Would you like to tell us a bit about that?

  3. 1jaded1 says:

    It’s a start…good to see you, dear Revis.

  4. I’ve got the best ideas, great ideas, when I’m walking around. Then I sit in front of my computer and blank as well. I really need to write down these ‘awesome, creative, splendid’ ideas I always forget…

  5. I agree with Mental Mama,,that’s what I have had to start doing.
    As soon as a idea hits my little pea brain I stop what I’m doing and jot it down on the good ol iPhone.

    • My phone is only good for calling and texting. I can’t really do much more with it. Besides, as I told Mental Mama, I have to be in the mood to write something. Even if I jot down the idea to write about it later, I may not be in the mood to write about it when I have the time.

  6. The Cutter says:

    Sometimes writing about writer’s block is a good kick start. And other times, it isn’t.

    I hope you found this helpful!

  7. Marie says:

    It’s normal. I keep a calendar of all my postings on my blog to remind myself of all my blank moments. Holy crap I just noticed you have over 4,000 followers! See? I get distracted by shiny stuff too!

  8. Dawn says:

    I’m in the same boat TD. I just recently decided I’m not going to sit down to write until I have a better idea of direction I actually want to go in. I’m walking around my house with a pen in hand, writing every random thought down, hoping it all comes together at some point. I used to have ideas every minute of the day…and now…it almost feels like work trying to come up with stuff. So…no more. I gotta sit back for a while I think.

    • Right now, it’s more of a lack of motivation than a lack of ideas….

      • Dawn says:

        Revis, I’m an ass. I do believe I addressed Twindaddy in this comment. My apologies.

        And I’d have to admit, it’s definitely a lack of motivation on my end too. I start writing and never seem to finish anything. It drives me nuts.

  9. Glad I’m not the only one who looks up cartoon voices. That’s me.all.the.time. Maybe I would get more blog posts read if I wasn’t so distracted by who voices the hippo on Doc McStuffins.

  10. Everybody ends up doing at least one post like this… well… not me, I have crack squirrels… and some people only do posts like this… for whatever that is worth…

  11. BrainRants says:

    It’s okay. Give yourself permission to have the block. Also, look at funny memes online. I find that helps sometimes.

  12. You have a bad case of writers block. I suggest you take a trip to Hawaii to cure it…

  13. It happens to all of us. Just relax, maybe you need a break.

  14. benzeknees says:

    I have been having trouble writing lately as well – in large part because of my sadness over what is happening to Rara. Mayhap this is happening for you too?

  15. I understand – when in the mood to write, I’m not at a point where I can write. Then once at the keyboard, all the ideas run away and hide.

    Perhaps you and Mrs Revis need to take Baby E away for a weekend or something?

Revis "......."

