What We Have Here Is A Failure To Communicate

I’m sure none of you actually noticed, but it has been a little over a week since my last post. Things have been crazy at work. Baby E has been sick (She’s doing better now, but it’s been a rough week). So, I thought I’d start back off with something that happened at work yesterday.

Because things have been so crazy there, I’ve had to work with the Japanese woman in the office (You may remember her from this story. Or maybe this one instead) a lot more than usual. Yesterday, she was in the tech room with the guy who helped get me the job. The tech room, and the room I was in, are separated by a wall with windows. In the middle of the wall is an opening that has a conveyor belt  going through it. That’s how we get the radios out of the tech room and into the warehouse.

I was standing at the opening BSing with them for a few minutes when she pointed to something on the conveyor belt. “You need to screw that box,” she told me.

Me and the other guy looked at each other in confusion. “Uhh…..What?”

She pointed to the box again. “You need to screw that box over.”

Once more, the guy and I looked at each other through the window, wondering what the hell she was talking about. “Uhh….What???”

“You know….move it out of the way.”

The other guy asked, “You mean ‘scoot the box over’?”

This time, she looked confused. “What was wrong with what I said?”

I left it alone. Explaining it to her would’ve probably not gone well for me.

34 comments on “What We Have Here Is A Failure To Communicate

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    That lady is a hot HR mess waiting to happen.

  2. Elyse says:

    Know when to fold ’em!

  3. You passed up a perfect Giggity or That’s what she said opportunity?!! Shame on you, sir!

  4. El Guapo says:

    You should definitely join her for water cooler conversation! Then you can find out what a box did to her all those years ago…

    Glad baby E is doing well.

  5. likeitiz says:

    Us she local or is she a transfer from Japan? I would think that in either case she would be trained in these matters.

  6. Paul says:

    The problem with not explaining – as difficult as it is – is that she will repeat the error and possibly compound it or do it in less controlled circumstances. I’ve worked with English-challenged employees in the past and after a number of face-palming incidents, I bit the bullet and just corrected them when possible with explanation. They will come to appreciate it and will ask you about other situations that did not turn out well.

  7. I hope she never rides a scooter… HA!

  8. You did the right thing. You’d have just embarrassed her. Plus, you’d have gotten a one-way ticket to Human Resources.

  9. Maybe the right thing to do this time. But it would save her a lot of embarrassment if you could get someone to explain the useage of slang terms to her. Or maybe just ask her to try to not use slang terminology?

  10. mollytopia says:

    Hahahaha – I can’t believe neither of you cracked up laughing. Excellent restraint by both of you : ) I wouldn’t have lasted two seconds. Truth.

  11. MissFourEyes says:

    Bahaha! I love that she said ‘screw that box over’ the second time around. Good call on not explaining it

  12. benzeknees says:

    Hahahahahahahaha!

Revis "......."

