5 Comic Book/Superhero Movies They Need To Make/Remake

Since there have been many of these movies lately, and more on the way, I decided to give my opinion on which ones should be done next. Some of these I want to see done because of my comic book geekery. Some of them I want to see done because…. well, it’d just be awesome.

I’d like to start off by saying that I don’t pay enough attention to movie news to know if any of these are actually in  production or not. For all I know, all 5 of them are filming right now (which would be 33 grams of kick ass). Of course, a couple of these will never be made unless I win the lottery or something. Let’s start off with the first one on my list.

  1. Daredevil (Remake): The Daredevil movie was incredibly disappointing, and not just because they cast Ben Affleck as Daredevil. He got the part just because he’s a name and is a huge Daredevil fan. That didn’t make him right for the part, however. They also totally screwed up the movie with the script. The movie contained Bullseye, The Kingpin, and Elektra. That’s idiotic. It should’ve been a trilogy with each one of them getting their own movie. Part one is Daredevil vs. Bullseye. Part two is Daredevil vs. The Kingpin. And part three is Daredevil and Elektra vs. The Hand. Trying to cram as many characters as you can into one movie has never worked out well (See Batman and Robin).
  2. The Darkness: This would be a great movie….as long as it’s based on the original Garth Ennis run on the series. It was dark, it was funny, and it was a really good story. The Darkness is a badass. He’s gotten his own video game (2 of them actually). Now it’s time to give him a movie.
  3. Howard the Duck (Remake): All I have to say about this is: Howard the Duck played by Tom Cruise. I just blew up the epicness meter.
  4. Green Lantern (Remake): They wanted the original to be their version of Iron Man. Iron Man launched The Avengers movie, and DC wanted this to do the same for the Justice League. It didn’t work out that way.  Like Daredevil, they tried to do too much at once. I know almost nothing about Green Lantern and even I knew that they screwed the script in this movie. It also should’ve been broken down into a trilogy. The first movie should’ve been about that weird scientist guy. The second movie should’ve been about Sinestro. The third one should’ve been against Parallax. Seriously, Hollywood, stop putting 3 or 4 named characters in each movie.
  5. Ambiguously Gay Duo: Would making this movie get the filmmaker crucified by just about every LGBT group out there? Probably. Should someone make it anyways? Hell yeah. It probably wouldn’t work as well as a 90 minute long movie as it does as a 5 minute cartoon, but it would still be epically awesome. Don’t believe me? Watch this.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPhV29Ho108

There are mine. What about all of you? Are there any comic book/superhero movies that you’d like to see made/remade?

 

12 comments on “5 Comic Book/Superhero Movies They Need To Make/Remake

  1. xmenxpert says:

    Daredevil is getting a Netflix show. But the proper way to do a Daredevil film series would actually be to first introduce Daredevil as a hero, with Kingpin as almost a behind-the-scenes presence, and Daredevil verbally confronting him at the end, swearing to bring him down, and setting up the sequel. For the sequel, stick a little closer to the Frank Miller classic story, with Elektra being hired as an assassin by Kingpin, Daredevil and Elektra encountering each other and remembering their college romance, Elektra betraying the Kingpin, and Kingpin hiring Bullseye to kill her, which leads to Daredevil nearly killing Bullseye. The third movie could be all-out war between Daredevil and the Kingpin, possibly based a bit on the Born Again storyline.

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    Daredevil was an extremely confusing movie. Breaking it up would serve it better.

    How did I go through life without seeing the Ambiguously Gay Duo? I’ve felt like shit all day and that skit made me bwahaha. The looks on those kids’ faces. If they didn’t do a 90 minute film, maybe they could make it a short, before an actual movie.

  3. Dylan Dailey says:

    Daredevil suffered because the story was just so damn rushed. They should have developed the Murdock/Electra romance in the first film and had Daredevil defeat Kingpin at the end. But Kingpin is too big to defeat utterly. So part two could have been, like, “The Kingpin Strikes Back”, sending Bullseye after Daredevil, and so on. A cliffhanger involving rather Electra was dead or not would have led nicely into a great third film. The studio just really felt like they had to jumpstart the Electra character fast so they could have two franchises going. Then the Electra movie turned out even worse than Daredevil, and they had zero franchises! You can’t squeeze a trilogy into one movie. Have they learned that lesson? Maybe…but I doubt it.
    I honestly don’t think Affleck was the reason Daredevil sucked. The story was a mess that no actor could have saved…

    • I’m not placing the blame on Affleck, and I agree that it would’ve been a bad movie with any actor. However, it was a bad casting choice. I don’t have a problem with him overall. I just think he was a bad pick for this particular part.

  4. El Guapo says:

    Why not make a new, good movie instead of retreads?
    the original Superman movies were great (well, the first two), but the remakes sucked.

    • There are a few new movies I’d like to see made, but the first thing on my wish list is a good Daredevil movie. In my opinion I don’t think I can count the first one as an actual movie since it was nothing but a bunch of suck.

  5. djmatticus says:

    I would love to see a Punisher movie done correctly.
    I would love to see a Daredevil movie done correctly too.

    Have you heard the rumors about the new Highlander movie?

    • I didn’t mind the Thomas Jane Punisher. The sequel sucked ass, but I thought they did all right with the first one.

      I haven’t heard anything about a new Highlander, but, then again, I’ve never seen any of the Highlander movies. So, even if I did, it wouldn’t pique my interest.

      • djmatticus says:

        The movies are all mostly crap. But, the series… okay, it’s pretty terrible too, but it’s better than the movies and if you sit through a couple of them they do sort of draw you in…

  6. I’ve just tried to watch the youtube video and it says it’s private. Botheration.

    Don’t know if there are any movies I’d want re-made. I guess I’ll have to go away and have a think!

Revis "......."

