My Weekly Soundtrack: Song Sequels

When you think of the word sequel, I’d say the first thing that pops into your head is movies, or maybe books. I doubt that you’d think of songs. Believe it or not, there are actually songs out there that have sequels.

This is the first of these that came out. It was off of 1991’s Black album. It’s The Unforgiven by Metallica.

The next song is the from the self-titled debut album in 1998: Voodoo by Godsmack.

In 1997, Metallica followed up The Unforgiven, on their album Reload, with this: The Unforgiven II.

In 2006, Godsmack released IV, which included their sequel Voodoo Too.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NKon7VUIP4c

Apparently not wanting to be outdone, in 2008, on their album Death Magnetic, Metallica released a third Unforgiven.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J3m6et00DfQ

What do you think people? Song sequels: good idea or bad idea?

17 comments on “My Weekly Soundtrack: Song Sequels

  1. I did not know that…

  2. Steph says:

    Oooh, oldies but goodies. I think it’s a good idea. Most people might not notice or care, but people who follow the bands appreciate the continuity I think.

  3. djmatticus says:

    It’s hard to say something against it, because I like the songs… but it does sort of seem like cheating, right? You had success with the first one, so… why not bring it back, tweak it a bit, and see if people will bite again?
    That being said, could we segway into a separate argument: how do you feel about what Green Day did: they released Welcome to Paradise on Kerplunk! (the album before they made it big) and then changed it a bit, kept the same name, and released it again on Dookie. It wasn’t really a sequel, it was just the same song changed up a bit, but keeping the same name…

  4. Elyse says:

    Maybe if you call something a sequel you can get away with folks criticizing you for the fact that much of your music sounds alike! But I like these.

  5. 1jaded1 says:

    The Unforgiven is the only song by Metallica that I like. The sequels aren’t bad either!

  6. bardictale says:

    The Unforgiven is one of my favorite songs. I don’t like the second so much, and the third…could they have given it a different name? I mean, it’s not the same song, so why give it the same name?

    • The third one sounds enough like the other two for me to call it Unforgiven. It’s not as good as the original, obviously, but I didn’t have a problem with it other than that.

  7. Robin says:

    I was not aware of song sequels. And, I am not a Metallica fan, and I have never listened to Godsmack, so I can’t comment on the songs you featured. I sometimes like when a musician does a new arrangement on a song. As for sequels…it is probably similar to movies…sometimes it just can’t compare to the original and they should have left good enough alone…and sometimes they get it right and it works.

  8. […] My Weekly Soundtrack: Song Sequels […]

Revis "......."

