Song Story: Last Resort

When I did my first post about one of my song stories, I warned you that there would be some that were mundane (and probably pointless). This is one of those. I’d feel bad about telling you a story that you may not find interesting, but, hey, nobody’s forcing you to read this.

Anyways…

When Twindaddy split with the twins’ mother, he came to live with me for a while. They were around 6 at the time (Although you’d have to ask Twindaddy to find out for sure. I’m not very good at remembering things). This particular incident happened not long after he moved in. It was a time when I still had a little something to learn about what I can and can’t listen to when children are present….

The living room and the dining area of the apartment were all one big room. One day, the twins were at the dining room table doing their homework, while Twindaddy was on the couch playing Madden. My computer was situated right next to the TV, so I sat at the computer desk, manning the media player (we’d usually have our own music playing over the game because the announcers on Madden tend to be very annoying).

Our songs were selected randomly by the computer, and everything was fine….until Last Resort by Papa Roach started playing. At first, I thought nothing of it. In fact, I started singing along.

Cut my life into pieces, this is my last resort

I looked over at my brother, fully expecting him to be singing along with me. Instead, he had a look of terror on his face. In the split-second I was wondering why he had that look on his face, I remembered what the next line of the song is. I practically leaped at the mouse to click on the Next button.

Suffocation, no breathing, don’t give a fu….

At this point, I always picture myself doing one of those movie “slowly opening one eye to see if the bad thing occurred” gags, although I’m pretty sure that never happened. It was more like I gave a nervous chuckle while the twins looked at me like I was crazy.

Either way, from that point on, I was a lot more careful about what was played whenever they were around.

38 comments on “Song Story: Last Resort

  1. El Guapo says:

    Ha! Yet another reason I’m glad I don’t have kids!

  2. lauralord says:

    I have done the dive of shame for the volume control entirely too many times. It’s a parent thing hahaha.

  3. BrainRants says:

    Good save. These days it’s virtually impossible to keep this away from kids, though.

  4. Twindaddy says:

    I’m pretty sure I yelled to cover up the profanity. That was my go-to save for a lot of that.

  5. Steph says:

    Nothing like your 5-year-old dropping the f-bomb in casual conversation, lol.

  6. Celine Dion is a safe bet! 😉

  7. Elyse says:

    In my house it has gone from me making noise to cover up lyrics my son might hear, to him making noise to cover up lyrics I might hear.

  8. I’m reminded of being at a party at the house of some people I vaguely knew, and pretty much all of the people there identified as being Christian to some extent. The daughters had picked the music, and they’d put on an Alanis Morisette’s album “Jagged Little Pill”. The last track is a double with two songs on, and one of them contains the same word you had to avoid. I remember it playing at least twice, and each time, the girls came in too late to skip the track to avoid all these nice Christian people hearing the f-word. I thought it was quite funny really!

  9. djmatticus says:

    Nice save… though, good music is good music. And somethings are more important than worrying about a curse word here and there.
    😛

  10. Guap makes an excellent point. When you have kids running around the house, you’ve got to watch everything you say or listen to. You can’t even drop the F-bomb whenever you want! Take my word for it, it’s EXHAUSTING. If you refrain from having kids, you’ll be free as the breeze in more ways than one. That’s a FACT, Jack.

  11. Robin says:

    Little ears repeat what they hear. I once had to ask a former brother-in-law not to use the F-bomb at my dinner table when my children were 6 and 11. He was very offended. I don’t think he ever came to dinner again. That was fine with me. He was a jerk.

  12. rarasaur says:

    I grew up in a household of kids, so it was far more normal for me to sing the wheels on the bus than papa roach. Now that I’ve been with Dave for nearly a decade… around precious few children, my filters aren’t quite as polished. I have to constantly remind myself that certain topics aren’t kid-appropriate. 🙂

  13. benzeknees says:

    Sometimes I think it’s better to let the children hear things & then explain to them what is going on rather than avoiding things altogether. If the song is popular they will probably here it somewhere else anyway & wouldn’t you rather they listen to your explanation than the explanation of some trumped up “expert” of a 7 year old?

Revis "......."

