My Weekly Soundtrack: 2/18/2014

Hello, everyone. Welcome to me.

It’s time for another edition of My Weekly Soundtrack. This week there will be a theme. My team lead at work has been going on for the past few workdays about song covers that are better than the originals. So, all of these songs are in that category, in my opinion. That doesn’t mean I don’t like the originals. I just think these versions are better.

Some of them have been on one of these lists before, but listen to them anyways. They’re awesome songs.

The first song this week is Last Kiss by Pearl Jam.

Second this week is Turn the Page by Metallica.

Our third song this week is Alien Ant Farm’s version of Smooth Criminal.

This week’s fourth song is Shout 2000 by Disturbed.

Seether’s take on Careless Whisper is fifth.

Careless Whisper isn’t the only George Michael song that was done better by someone else. Here’s Limp Bizkit covering Faith.

Last this week is Ugly Kid Joe’s take on Cats in the Cradle.

There you have it everyone. Hope you enjoy this week’s songs. Also, be sure and let me know which songs I may have missed with my list. Are there any covers out there that you think are better than the original?

32 comments on “My Weekly Soundtrack: 2/18/2014

  1. lauralord says:

    One. . .these are awesome. Two. . .you have Disturbed’s up twice and are missing Seether’s. 😀

  2. suzie81 says:

    Loved these. Nirvana’s version of The Man Who Sold the World is a cracking cover…

  3. Nadia says:

    Seether did such a good job with that cover. Also, Deftones do an awesome cover of Lynyrd Skynyrd’s Simple Man. Beautiful song – gets me every time.

  4. I forgot about the Faith cover – I remember really enjoying it then (and now).

    I like Johnny Cash’s version of “Hurt” (Nine Inch Nails), Tom Jones’ “Kiss” (Prince), Rage Against the Machine’s “Renegades of Funk” ( Afrika Bambaataa), Carlos Santana’s “Hold On” (Ian Thomas) and of course Sid Vicious’s “My Way” (Frank Sinatra)

    Great covers there!

  5. electronicbaglady says:

    great list – thank you!
    I offer Siouxsie and the Banshees “Dear Prudence” and Nightwish “Over the hills and far away” – not sure idf the latter quite counts though

  6. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmusic

  7. goldfish says:

    I agree with the Metallica, but I cannot support any post Limp Bizkit. Fred Durst is such a tool. And the rest of those… meh.

  8. BrainRants says:

    Anything with Disturbed always rocks, and when good metal defucks George Michael, well, doublefuckingwin.

  9. Pocahontas says:

    Love Pearl Jam’s “Last Kiss” especially. : )

  10. Pocahontas says:

    I must say, I like Bob’s “Turn the Page” much better. : )

  11. […] Revis posted about covers that are better than the original, which made me want to do my own list. To me, a great cover is one that takes the original song and bends it into a new form, while still honoring the original song. Here is my list of great cover songs that meet that criteria. […]

  12. Love Love Love ALL of these TD! I have them playing in the background as I read!

  13. Erica M says:

    If you want to watch my 12-year-old physically recoil in horror, let Alien Ant Farm’s Smooth Criminal come up in shuffle. It’s kind of hilarious.

    Speaking of hilarity, Pamplamoose does a pretty fun job on Beyonce’s Single Ladies.

Revis "......."

