Not Meant To Be

As I’ve previously said, I’ve been playing a lot of Final Fantasy VII lately. I originally played the game when it released on PlayStation One. Because of the memory restrictions that these discs had, it took 3 discs to hold the entire game. I was floored by how good the game looked. Although, if you look at it now, it is almost laughable that those were considered top-of-the-line graphics.

It took me a while, but I finally managed to get to Disc 2. After playing only a few hours on it, I saved and turned it off, having other things to do.  The next time I fired up the PlayStation, I saw that a tragedy had occurred. My game save was gone…

My younger brother, who also played on my console, swore he didn’t do it, or if he did, it was accidental. I didn’t buy that one (as the memory card now contained saves from the game he was playing instead), but there was nothing I could do about it. I’d have to start all over again.

As penance for deleting my card, he had to buy me a new one, that way we’d each have one to use. Then, I started the game over again. Before long, I was back to where I left off before the erasure. After I passed it, I had only played for a few hours more when I came upon a boss fight that I just couldn’t beat (This was in the days before websites with walkthroughs were readily available). So, I decided to take a break from it, because it was pissing me off. Big mistake, Indy….

The game I moved onto was the next one in the Final Fantasy series, Final Fantasy VIII. It was a vast improvement over its predecessor (At least as far as graphics are concerned. I really don’t remember much about the story…which probably means that it wasn’t very good). Final Fantasy VIII was 4 discs long and I was determined to play all of them. I only made it to halfway through the second disc. I got to a place where there was this awesome cutscene (that would still be considered good looking today) and the game froze up.

What the hell?

I cleaned the disc and loaded up my last save. The cutscene played and, again, froze up.

SHIT!!!

I repeated this process a few more times and each time the game froze in the exact same spot.

DAMMIT!!!!!!

Once again pissed off, I moved onto another something new: the Xbox. I don’t think I played the PlayStation One ever again.

Years later, while working in the electronics department at HellMart, I saw that they had released a Final Fantasy VII prequel on the PSP called Crisis Core. Remembering that I liked the original, I bought it. Crisis Core is an action/RPG as opposed to the original, which is turn-based. There are a few other differences, but overall it’s a good game.

Being a prequel, Crisis Core had parts of the game where you played through some of the flashback cutscenes from the original. Damn. Now I wanted to play the original again. After doing some looking, I found that I could download it from the PlayStation Network onto my PSP. So, I bought it.

When I first downloaded it, I played it like crazy. I got to Disc 2 faster than ever. Then, I got into other games on my 360 and kind of forgot about my PSP for a little while. It was probably at least a year in between plays. A couple of months ago, I started playing it regularly again. I made it farther than I had ever been before. That’s when it happened….

Every once in a while, the PSP would not recognize the Memory Stick. I had read that the PSP doesn’t like it when the Memory Stick is too full, so I checked what all I had on it. There shouldn’t have been anything except for the game itself and the game save, since I had another Memory Stick for saving all of my other games. To my surprise, I found saves from Crisis Core, God of War, and Star Wars Battlefront on it, as well. Apparently, I forgot to switch them out. So, I deleted everything from the card, except for Final Fantasy VII and my game save from it.

The next time I went to play, I hit the button to load the game. It froze halfway through. I didn’t really think anything of it until I went to load it again. Now, it was saying that I didn’t have a game save….. Umm, WHAT?!?!?!

I go out to the main menu and look at what’s on the card. It says that the game save is still there, but it won’t let me load it. Oy vey!

It’s looking like the fates don’t want me to finish this game. I ended up having to start over once again. This is now the fourth time I’ve had to play through the first disc. If something happens this time, I’m probably going to end up just giving up on it.

14 comments on “Not Meant To Be

  1. Twindaddy says:

    It’s a conspiracy, man.

  2. MissFourEyes says:

    Sometimes I feel bad about feeling bad after losing a saved game. Surely it’s silly to feel so angry for a video game?
    No it’s not! I feel for you man. Revis vs. the PlayStation, I hope you win this time.

    • It wouldn’t be so bad if there wasn’t all that time put in. The shortest amount of time it took me to get to the second disc is 19 hours….I’ve played through the first disc 4 times now. Three of those times are now meaningless. That means I’ve wasted almost 60 hours because of all these SNAFUs.

  3. bardictale says:

    At least it’s consistent Try on someone elses? .

  4. El Guapo says:

    Modern technology is overrated.
    I feel your pain.

  5. djmatticus says:

    I had something similar happen the first couple times through metal gear solid (which was only a 2 disc game). But, in the end, when it all finally worked out, it was worth it!
    I remember liking FFVII too. Hopefully this time through will go smoothly.

Revis "......."

