Fall From Grace

After doing my post participating in Matticus’ Tug-of-War, it put me in the mood to read comics again. While I got rid of most of my comics years ago, when I stopped collecting (I just didn’t have the room for them anymore), I still have some of my trade paperbacks. To get my comics fix, I looked through those.

I noticed that I only have books from two characters now. It’s one character from each DC and Marvel. From DC, it’s Nightwing. From Marvel, it’s Daredevil. While I loves me some Nightwing, I had to grab one of the Daredevil books because…well…. Marvel.

The book I grabbed was Fall From Grace, written by D.G. Chichester with art by Scott McDaniel (The funny part? Scott McDaniel does the artwork for most of the Nightwing books I have too). Fall From Grace is a fairly dark story, but it’s a very good one.

It starts off with Daredevil trying to find a homeless man. This homeless man is a telepath who is projecting his pain into the other homeless people around him, making them harm themselves. Daredevil wants to find him and stop him before the man makes anyone else hurt themselves.

As the story progresses, Daredevil learns that the homeless man carries a secret with him. The secret is what is making him project his pain. It’s also a secret that everyone else wants. So, not only does he have to stop the telepath from hurting fellow homeless people, he has to stop others from harming the telepath to get to the secret.

There are guest stars galore in this story: Morbius, Nick Fury, Silver Sable, and even Spiderman’s nemesis Venom, make appearances.

In short, this book is awesome. If you like Daredevil, or even comics in general, you should check this book out.

11 comments on “Fall From Grace

  1. El Guapo says:

    when I read comics I enjoy graphic novels more, if only for the length.
    More is definitely more.

  2. djmatticus says:

    Not sure I’ve ever read a Daredevil book, other than the ones where he make guest appearances in Punisher or vise versa. This one does sound good, though, I will see if I can find it next time I’m out and about looking for new things to read.

    • I’m the opposite. I only read a couple of things with the Punisher in them.

      Fall From Grace is a good one of Daredevil’s to read. Another good one is Daredevil: Visionaries- Kevin Smith. He does a surprisingly good job writing for The Man Without Fear.

  3. The Cutter says:

    This was the one where he “died” and went to the gray costume?

  4. bardictale says:

    Sounds interesting…thanks!

Revis "......."

