Versus: Episode 5

I’d like to welcome you all to the fifth installment of my Versus series. Now, some of you may have noticed that I haven’t done comic book characters matchup yet. A number of you have suggested doing a “who would win in a fight between this Marvel character and this DC character. So far, I’ve refrained from doing one of those for one simple reason: it’s probably been done before.

Marvel and DC have had numerous crossovers between their characters over the years. I will admit, though, that every crossover is the same (all the ones that I’ve ever read have been anyways). The heroes meet, they fight to a draw (you know, because neither company wants to admit the other’s character is better/more powerful), then realize they should be working together instead of at cross purposes, and the team up against the bad guys. So, at some point in the future, I may do some of them. For now, I’m going to stick to what I’m doing.

Let’s get on to this week’s matchups. The first one was suggested by the always awesome (even when she’s being the villain) Jaded.

ROUND 1: MORE BADASS DEAD PERSON FROM DETROIT, ERIC DRAVEN  (BRANDON LEE, THE CROW) VS. ALEX MURPHY  (PETER WELLER, ROBOCOP)

It’s not very often that people kick more ass after they die than when they were alive. Both of these guys pulled it off, though. Alex Murphy was a cop before he died, so he kicked a little ass beforehand. Eric Draven, however, was a musician who kicked almost no ass (as far as we know) before dying.
If this was a contest based solely on which is the better movie, The Crow wins hands down. If I’m going with which one would win in a fight….I’m going to have to go with the Crow on that one too.

As long as the bird stays out of Robocop’s face, he’s going to completely ignore it. If he doesn’t kill the bird, Eric can take whatever Robocop can dish out and keep coming back until he defeats the cyborg. True, Robocop may figure out the secret to The Crow’s power without the bird interfering, but I don’t see it happening. After all, Robocop doesn’t have a creepy sister he has three-ways with like The Crow’s villain did.

ROUND 2: GODZILLA VS. CLOVERFIELD

I’m definitely not basing this on the Roland Emmerich/ Matthew Broderick monstrosity. This will be from the old school Godzilla.

Both are tough monsters, capable of easily destroying cities. Other than their appearance, about the only difference between these two monsters is that Godzilla can breath fire. Normally, I’d say that would give Godzilla the edge.

However, I said “about the only difference”. The other difference is that Cloverfield is tougher. In the old Godzilla movies, he’s been shown to get hurt. In Cloverfield, the military shot the monster with everything it had and all they accomplished was pissing it off. If they couldn’t hurt it with all of that, I don’t see Godzilla being able to hurt it either.

Therefore, I’m going to have to give this one to Cloverfield.

14 comments on “Versus: Episode 5

  1. Twindaddy says:

    Cloverfield sucked…

  2. NotAPunkRocker says:

    How about Marvel vs. DC in general? That’s an ongoing debate in our house.

  3. 1jaded1 says:

    I go with Draven, although Robocop had the best quote. “Dead or alive, you’re coming with me.”

Revis "......."

