Old Shows

Instead of telling you about other shows that I’m watching (which I did recently), I thought I’d talk a little about shows that I used to watch. These are all shows that I grew up with.

My childhood fell right into the greatest age of Saturday morning cartoons. Not only did they still run the classics, like Looney Tunes and Woody Woodpecker, but they also brought forth a new generation of awesome cartoons. I grew up watching Transformers, Voltron, Thundercats, G.I. Joe, He-Man, and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

I loved these shows. My brothers and I had action figures from each of them (along with Star Wars, of course) and would make them all fight in one big battle royale. The winners would vary from day to day, but they were so much fun, just like the shows that spawned them.

Eventually, I grew up and moved on to different shows. Those shows that I once loved so much faded into memory, then, for the most part, faded away all together. I can only vaguely recall things that happened in those shows now. Even then, it’s usually fuzzy.

About 7 years ago (or so), Cartoon Network started reairing episodes of G.I. Joe and Thundercats. It was so exciting. I couldn’t wait to see these shows I used to love again. This is going to be awesome, I thought to myself.

Then, I watched them.

To say I was disappointed would be an understatement. I was horrified. I watched a couple of episodes of each (to make sure I didn’t just get a bad one the first time) and I spent the whole time thinking, “I can’t believe I used to like this shit. This is unbelievably bad.”

Going in, I knew I wasn’t going to like them as much as I used to, but I didn’t think they’d be that bad. They were so corny and cheesy. I honestly had nothing good to say about them. It made me question my younger self’s sanity.

A little while later, a friend of mine bought the old seasons of Transformers. I was a little hesitant, after how horrid the other two shows were, to try it again, but I watched a few episodes with him. While they weren’t that good, they certainly weren’t as bad as the others.

I’ve only seen one of the other shows in the past 7 years, and it was the best of the bunch. Granted, it still wasn’t as good as I remember it being, but it was still a show I could watch and enjoy. That show is Voltron. I don’t know what it is about that show, but I still kind of liked it. It still has some of the corniness and cheesiness that the other shows had, but it wasn’t nearly to their level.

What about you, dear readers? What shows did you grow up with, and do you still like them now?

6 comments on “Old Shows

  1. El Guapo says:

    I loved the incredible Hulk, Knight Rider, Dukes of Hazard.
    Now? Bleagh.

  2. NotAPunkRocker says:

    It sounds like we grew up around the same era. Voltron I still like because of the animation style compared to the others. What drives me crazy are the new versions of the older cartoons, but I liked the corniness of the original Superfriends/Justice League (for example).

  3. djmatticus says:

    I grew up on Gilligan’s Island, and Beverly Hillbillies and Rocky & Bullwinkle… And, well, of course they were all reruns, but those were the shows we watched. I know we watched GIJoe, and Mask, and the Smurfs, and Thundercats, and The Snorkels, and Masters of the Universe, and PeeWee’s Playhouse, and… dang, it sure sounds like we watched a lot of TV. Honestly, though, if any of them came on TV now, I’d probably only watch those first three.

Revis "......."

