New Shows

I started watching a couple of new shows recently, and, since they fall under the category of ‘my geekdom’, I figured I’d let you all know my opinion on them (whether you like it or not! HAHAHA!). I’ll start off with the one that has been airing the longest, Marvel’s Agents of SHIELD.

AGENTS OF SHIELD (TUESDAYS 8/7C, ABC)

The Avengers kicked so much ass. The individual movies of each of the Avengers were awesome, too. Even the Captain America one was good (Although, I’m still not a big Cap fan). So, I had high hopes for this show going in.

I don’t want to say I’m disappointed in it…but I kind of am.

It’s actually unfair of me to say that, though. There’s actually nothing wrong with it. I don’t have a problem with the acting. I don’t have a problem with any of the characters.

The writing, so far, has been pretty good. They have a couple of ongoing story lines that are enough to be interesting (How Coulson survived Loki killing him in The Avengers, and unveiling Skye’s background).

They’ve had a few good cameos (Cobie Smulders as Agent Maria Hill in the pilot, Samuel L. as Nick Fury in either the second or third episode). In the newest episode, they’ve imported an artifact from the new Thor movie (or is at least Asgardian), which is pretty cool.

With all of that going for it, it still feels like something is missing to me and I don’t know what it is. Maybe it’s that none of them have superpowers, or even a cool gimmick (like Hawkeye and his bow and arrow). Or, it could just be that I set my expectations for it way too high.

I’m still watching it. It’s a good show. There’s just something off about it and I can’t put my finger on it.

ALMOST HUMAN (MONDAYS 8/7C, FOX)

I started seeing commercials for this show a few weeks ago during football. I was a little hesitant to try it out. After all, most new shows that I’ve tried watching lately have either sucked, or haven’t been as good as I thought they were going to be. I went back and forth on it a few times before finally deciding to DVR it.

The thing that sold me on giving it a try is that it has Karl Urban in it. I have yet to see anything he’s done that has sucked (Granted, Doom wasn’t all that good, but it didn’t suck).

For those of you who don’t know what the premise is, let me break it down for you. Quite simply, it’s I, Robot the series. True, it doesn’t have any actual affiliation with Asimov’s books, or the Will Smith movie adaptation, but it’s pretty much the same. A down-on-his-luck cop who doesn’t like robots gets teamed up with one to fight the bad guys.

Normally, I don’t like it when shows are that close to something that has already been done, but it doesn’t really bother me in this case. They do a good job of making it their own. Plus, the back story is good enough to carry the overall direction of the show for a while.

I know that they’ve only shown two episodes of this so far, but I really liked those two episodes. After watching them, I couldn’t wait for the third. Granted, this may change. Some shows start off good, then start sucking. I hope this isn’t one of them. It looks like it could end up being really good.

 

8 comments on “New Shows

  1. Dylan Dailey says:

    I hear you on Shield. The characters are fine and the writing’s been fine, but I’m waiting for the shake up. The show’s been playing it really safe. Maybe the creators are easing us into it, I don’t know. They’d better step it up, though.

    • I’ve been close to giving up on it a couple of times. Like I said, it’s not that I’ve disliked anything that they’ve done, it’s just that it seems like something is missing from the show. If it’s still feeling that way a few episodes from now, I might finally follow through on giving up on it.

  2. bardictale says:

    Almost Human seems fun so far, though the whole Insyndicate thing is a bit off putting. I’ve had enough of the “out to find those who’d wronged him” shtick.
    Agents is missing something. I think it’s the plot line. They don’t really have one, just many different story lines running around shirtless. But it’s fun, so who cares, right? 🙂

    • I never really focused on the Insyndicate thing. I thought the girlfriend selling him out was way more interesting. Granted, she was working for Insyndicate, but I focused more on her than on the gang as a whole.

      Wait a minute…..who is running around shirtless on that show? If the women were shirtless and I missed it, I’m going to be mad!

  3. djmatticus says:

    I wanted to give Almost Human a try… the commercials I’d seen for it were intriguing, but then I missed the opening episodes which means I’m not likely to get into the show. Maybe I can catch reruns of it or something.
    I didn’t even bother trying to watch Marvel’s Agents of Shield. I have no problem admitting that it doesn’t matter how good the writing and acting are, without any of the main characters having superpowers I’m not interested.

    • FOX usually lets you watch any show of theirs you missed on its website. They just won’t put it up there until 8 days after its original air date.

      Like I said, even if they gave one or two of them a gimmick, like Hawkeye or Black Widow, that would be fine with me too. Instead, you’ve got Agent Coulson, a hacker, a couple of tech geeks, and a couple of SHIELD’s equivalent of James Bond or Jason Bourne. They’re all archetypes. Give them something that’ll help them stand out.

  4. […] of telling you about other shows that I’m watching (which I did recently), I thought I’d talk a little about shows that I used to watch. These are all shows that I […]

Revis "......."

