Finding a Story

Normally, story ideas just come to me. I could be watching something, reading something, playing a video game, or even listening to a song, and an idea for a story will just pop into my head. Some story ideas, if I’m very excited about them, I’ll start working on them right away. Others, I’ll start working on them and get bored with them early (which is looking like how it’s going to be with Sceptre of Chaos. If you’re a fan of the series, don’t worry. I still plan on finishing it). Still others I’ll file away in hopes that I’ll get around to them eventually.

Having all of these story ideas bouncing around in my head is not always a good thing (especially when I bounce back and forth between a few of them, trying to write them all, and usually end up accomplishing nothing). It also doesn’t help when, instead of using the ideas that I already have, I go looking for new ideas upon which to work.

Lately, I’ve been on a Dragon Age kick. I beat Dragon Age 2 for the fourth time a couple of weeks ago. Within the past 3 weeks, I’ve read all 3 published Dragon Age novels. I have also recently started playing Awakening (the expansion pack for Dragon Age: Origins) again. Well, whenever my daughter will allow me to play my Xbox, anyways….

Sometime during this period, a thought popped into my head. “Hey,” it said to me, “you should come up with a Dragon Age story.”

The good news is as I have been immersed in the universe lately, I have come up with some story ideas. The bad news is that I probably won’t write them. Why will I probably not write them? Because the ideas go against my rules. Well….maybe not rules. They go against my preferences. In this particular instance, it’s my preference to not use other people’s characters.

If they’ve already appeared in a book, comic book, movie, or video game, I don’t like to use them. Why? Because they’re already established, you have to fit your story around them and write them a certain way. It’s a hassle. So, in order for me to write a story that has an already established character, it need to be a good enough idea that make it worth the hassle. So far, none of my Dragon Age story ideas are worth the hassle.

I’m not giving up, though. I’m going to play through Awakenings, then probably start Origins all over again, too. As I’m playing, I’ sure many more story ideas will come to me. Maybe one of them will move me to write something. Or, maybe I’ll think of one on my own. Either way, I’ll be sure to let you know when I’ve got one.

5 comments on “Finding a Story

  1. bardictale says:

    Good luck with that^^

  2. El Guapo says:

    On the other hand, an established character means much of the groundwork is already there, and an obscure reference can be tweaked for a great story…

    • True, there are some advantages to using an established character, but it’s also kind of limiting because you not only have to stay true to the character, but you also have to make sure your story doesn’t have the character doing anything that will contradict anything in the established universe. Granted, you have to do that with new characters too, but, to me, that seems harder when using an established character.

Revis "......."

