Sceptre of Chaos Chapter 4

SOC logo

“The other members of the council will never consent to letting you give up control of your vote,” Kerven scoffed. “Especially not to me.”

“Who said anything about asking for their permission,” Fragiel countered. “Come to me the day before the vote and tell me which side you want me to support.”

“You actually expect me to believe you’d be willing to give that up?”

“You forget who you are talking to, my dwarven friend. I am a priest of the goddess of chaos. What do I care about the laws that those fools pass? I will not be living my life by them. The only reason I went to those damned votes is because the other gods demanded it. I will be glad when I no longer have to bother myself with paying attention to that drivel.”

Kerven took a long moment to look Fragiel over while he was deciding what to do. When he was finished, he stuck his hand out. “You got yourself a deal, priest.” As Fragiel shook his hand, Kerven added, “Here’s a warning, free of charge. You don’t vote the way I want you to, I’ll kill you in your sleep.”

Parshal expected his High Priest to show some kind of nervousness to that proclamation. Instead, he just smiled and said, “I would expect nothing less.”

“Meet me at the western gate in an hour. I’ll be ready by then.”

Fragiel watched as Kerven left to make his preparations. He and Parshal had their own to make, as well. The High Priest took some money from the temple’s coffers. After filling their packs with road rations and water skins, the two men made their way to the weapon stand. Parshal picked out a well balanced sword while Fragiel grabbed a mace. At the armor stand, Parshal picked out a suit of leather armor, which he put on in the store, changing out of his acolyte robes on Fragiel’s orders. When he asked his High Priest why, the only answer he got was, “For deception.”

The only piece of armor that Fragiel purchased was a shield. Parshal thought it an odd combination, but he wasn’t the one who had to use them. As they made their way to the gate, he kept asking questions about their mission to his High Priest, but Fragiel’s answers were evasive and left him with only more questions. Those questions would have to wait, however, as Fragiel ordered him ahead to ask a couple of his former city guard companions to expedite their exit through the gate.

Fragiel was watching him walk away when he felt the presence behind him. Without turning, he asked, “Something on your mind, dwarf?”

“Why are we bringing the acolyte who never shuts up? You know he’s going to be a liability out there, right?”

“I’m bringing him for two reasons. One, as a former city guardsman, he is well experienced in fighting. Two, he is expendable.”

“You consider your fellow priests expendable? Remind me never to join your religion.”

“I don’t consider all of my fellow priest expendable. Just him.” When he saw the curious  expression Kerven shot him, he continued, “Our temple only exists because the other six gods decree it to be that way. Our goddess, in her wisdom, decided to use this as a test for those who want to enter her service. Anyone who wants to become a priest of Accura is told that they must complete a year of servitude at the temple before they can attain priesthood.”

“So? That sounds like something all of the other religions would do.”

“Exactly. Accura is the goddess of chaos. She doesn’t want people who follow rules. So, if someone stays at the temple for the full year, they are forced out of Accura’s service. If they think for themselves, and leave the temple, they are made priests.”

“Is his year up?”

“No, but it will be in a week. He’s the only one who has ever made it longer than six months. I assume you were following us?”

“Of course.”

“Then you heard his questions. Those are the questions of someone who is trying to put order to everything. ‘What do we do here? Why are we doing this?’ These are not the questions of someone who is supposed to be devoting his life to chaos. So, we will use him to battle any trouble that may cross our path. If he happens to fall, it is of no concern to us.”

Kerven laughed. “And people call me a cold-hearted bastard.”

Parshal returned a few minutes later and announced that the guards would be letting them out without any hassle. The trio exited the western gate of Qyooniba, heading towards Kanasa City. Kerven kept his eyes forward. The two priest might have been oblivious to it, but he could feel the eyes upon their backs. The question now was when he was going to have to poke those eyes out.

5 comments on “Sceptre of Chaos Chapter 4

  1. El Guapo says:

    I think Parshel is going to come to a bad end…

  2. djmatticus says:

    All hail chaos, long my it rule.
    Still loving this story. Can’t wait to see where you are going with it!

    • Thanks, Jester. I can’t wait until I have more time to write it.

      • djmatticus says:

        Ugh… feel like I’m being pulled a million directions these days – work, the prince, the queen, blogging, working on my stories, working on guest blogs, working on the story with you, working on a couple side projects, taking care of the cats, editing things I’ve already written, staying up on my team’s games, trying to fit in some exercise, food, and sleep…
        So, yes, time… I understand.

Revis "......."

