My Weekly Soundtrack: Remakes

I know I haven’t done any of these soundtracks the past couple of Tuesdays, but I have good reasons. Last Tuesday was my birthday, and the Tuesday before that was my wife’s. As much as I like sharing music with you all, I’m not going to be giving up birthday time with my family to do it.

In honor of my return from break, I will be doing a special soudtrack. This week I will be focusing on a particular type of song: remakes.

There are some good ones (Seether’s remake of Careless Whisper or Metallica’s remake of Turn the Page, for example). There are some bad ones (Sheryl Crow’s dismantling of Sweet Child of Mine. God, what a horrible piece of shit that was. I don’t even like GNR, but I felt sorry for them after that song came out). The three that I will be talking about will, in my opinion anyways, fall into the bad one category. My main problem with these songs is not that they were badly remade. It’s that they were badly remade by their original artists.

The first song I’ll be talking about is Broken by Seether.

Broken was originally released on Seether’s debut album Disclaimer. Not too long after is when the lead singer started dating Amy Lee from Evanescence and they decided to remake the song with her joining him on vocals. They also added electric guitar to it, as well. To me they ruined the song. I’m pretty sure I’m in the minority on this one because almost everyone else I’ve talked to says they like the remake better. I shall let you decide for yourselves.

The second song is Blow Me Away by Breaking Benjamin.

This song was originally released on the Halo 2 (or maybe 3. I’m not sure) soundtrack. A couple of years ago, it was remade to go onto their greatest hits album. They had a woman named Valora (who I’ve never heard of before, or since) sing the second verse and sing backing vocals on it. I don’t think she ruined the song (like I think Amy Lee ruined Broken), but she made the song worse. It’s still a good song, but I like the original version better.

The last song I’ll be talking about is Dirty Magic, by The Offspring.

It was originally on their second album, Ignition (the one before they hit it big with Smash). On their newest CD, Days Go By, they remade it. I guess my main problem with this is that it didn’t need to be done. To me, the song was perfect like it was, so why did they mess with it? They really didn’t change it all that much. They added a couple of words in the chorus and made the music sound a little heavier, but that was about it. Those few little things, though, were enough to make me not like the remake.

What do you think, folks. Which versions did you like better?

12 comments on “My Weekly Soundtrack: Remakes

  1. BrainRants says:

    Amy Lee makes me drool.

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    Originals on all counts. Amy Lee’s voice sounds like nails scratching down a chalkboard. Yuck.

  3. Elyse says:

    I’ll go with the originals too.

  4. KG says:

    +1 for the originals. Only exception is that I liked the new version in Halo too.

  5. bardictale says:

    I knew the Amy Lee version first so I don’t think it’s awful, but I agree that without her it’s much better^^

Revis "......."

