Sceptre of Chaos: Chapter 1

This is the first chapter in my new fantasy story, Sceptre of Chaos. As I don’t want to ‘borrow’ any more pictures from anyone, you’ll now be forced to look at some badly done pictures that I have made on Paint. I’m sorry. If you want to take the time to make me a better logo for it, feel free. And thanks in advance.

SOC logo

The cold hands of death closed around his throat and began to squeeze. Every instinct in his body was telling him to fight, but his head was telling him how useless it would be. There was no way he would ever break the grip. Besides, his attacker would be expecting him to fight, and he knew from experience that doing what his attacker expects is not usually a good thing. So, in defiance, he sat back, waiting.

Just as spots were beginning to form in his vision, the hands released him. Air rushed back into his lungs as he drew deep, gasping breaths. It was many moments before he gained his composure. When he finally did, he looked into the eyes of his attacker and saw that the anger that caused the outburst was still there. He prepared himself for another attack, but it never came.

Instead, his attacker asked, “How long have you been my High Priest?”

“Nine years, my Queen,” Fragiel answered.

“Fool,” she shouted, he voice echoing in his head. With a thought, she lifted him off the ground and threw him into the wall behind him. “Any mortal woman can be made queen. I am a GODDESS! You shall address me as such.”

Fragiel briefly considered reminding his goddess that, the last time they spoke, it was her that requested that he call her ‘Queen’, but he discarded it after he regained the senses that had been knocked loose when he hit the wall. “Yes, my Goddess,” was all that he replied.

“What was the first command I gave you nine years ago, when I made you my High Priest?”

“That even though the sceptre of Accura, your sceptre, cannot be handled by any except for those blessed by you, I should still guard it with my life.”

“And where is the sceptre now?”

“On the stand I had made for it, over…”

Fragiel found himself pointing to an empty stand. The sceptre was gone! He couldn’t believe it. How had he not noticed it was missing before now?

“Tell me the name of the priest that has betrayed you, my Goddess,” he exclaimed. “I will gladly make him pay for what he did to you!”

“I have looked into the souls of all those who have sworn their loyalty to me. None of them is responsible for this,” Accura said, her voice trailing off at the end, lost in thought. Suddenly, she snapped out of it, furiously. “Besides, I will not be doing your work for you! You were the one who lost the sceptre. You will be the one who finds it. Is that understood?”

“Yes, my Goddess.”

“One last thing before I go, my High Priest. Until you recover that which you have lost, I will no longer be granting any of your prayers.”

“How will I be able to find the sceptre without your blessings?”

“Figure it out yourself,” her voice screeched so loudly in his head that he inadvertently covered his ears and closed his eyes.

When he opened his eyes back up, he stood alone. Looking down at the floor, he wondered how in the world he was going to do what he was asked.

12 comments on “Sceptre of Chaos: Chapter 1

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    Nice intro! And don’t worry about the picture. I’ll be focusing on the story.

  2. El Guapo says:

    I never understood why evil minions hung around…

  3. djmatticus says:

    Hooray for a new story!! Can’t wait to see where this one goes…

  4. […] week! Madame Weebles grabbed me with a vibrant declaration of war. Revis Edgewater started a new serial, and Becoming Cliche became the envy of all PBS fans! Thanks to them and all of you for a great […]

Revis "......."

