Year of Firsts

This past year has been filled with firsts for me. A year ago Sunday, I became a parent for the first time. That day in itself was full of firsts: the first time I held my daughter, the first time I changed her diaper (which led to the first time I had her poop on me), the first time I heard her cry. I could go on and on, but you get the idea.

It seemed like new firsts happened every day after that: the first time we brought her home, the first time she kept me up all night because she wouldn’t sleep, the first time she laughed.

Lately, more and more firsts have happened: the first time she stood up without help, the first time she took a step, the first time she walked.

She’s been growing up so quickly. We had her birthday party on Saturday. Baby E spent the entire time just running around the park shelter. She had a blast. She got one of those ride-on cars and was having all of the grown ups pushing her along, then started crying when they stopped pushing her. After the party, when we brought the ride-on car home, within 24 hours she had learned that if she pushes the car next to the desk, and she steps up on top of it, she can reach the things that Mommy and Daddy keep taking away from her.

I love you Baby E. I hope you had a great birthday.

21 comments on “Year of Firsts

  1. BrainRants says:

    These kind of days punctuate an otherwise dull existence with happiness.

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    Awe…here is to plenty more firsts! 🙂

  3. El Guapo says:

    Happy birthday, Baby E!

  4. djmatticus says:

    Happy Birthday Baby E! Super cute… and a warning of things to come for the little prince.

    • I went through some of these things with my nephews, but it still doesn’t prepare you for when they happen with your own child. It’s a wild ride, but it’s one definitely worth taking.

  5. I miss having a baby around.

  6. rarasaur says:

    Happy birthday, Baby E! And happy first year of fatherhood to you, Revis! 🙂

  7. here’s to many more first to come and do “mommy and daddy” keep taking her toys away??

  8. Elyse says:

    Oooh, Happy Birthday, Baby E. I love how she has you totally under her thumb already, Revis! It won’t change.

  9. Happy birthday, Baby E! And congratulations to you, Revis, and to Mrs Revis, for surviving the first year.

Revis "......."

