Join the Movement Movement

Everywhere you go now, you will hear people talking about burping. They will talk about passing gas. It is now considered socially acceptable to talk about these bodily functions. I consider this progress, as it is important to talk about these things. After all, if you didn’t burp or fart, you’d explode from the gas build up.

There’s still something that is still considered inappropriate to talk about:

bowel movements.

There’s a new woman at my job. She’s only been there a couple of weeks, but it’s apparently long enough for her to feel comfortable enough to hip check me and gently touch my shoulder. I decided that since she’s that comfortable around me, I’d joke around with her.

Yesterday, she had been off doing a project, so I didn’t see her for a while. When I finally did see her, she was walking from the direction of where the bathrooms were. Granted, there were other places  that she could’ve been coming from in from that direction, but I decided to go with the bathroom. As she approached me, I asked, “Did you have a nice dump?”

Both her and my team lead, who was working next to me, looked at me as if I had just propositioned her for money. She continued walking after telling me that asking about that wasn’t nice, or polite. He told me the same thing. Then today, my team lead tells me and her a story about a guy who worked there before we did that had named his penis.

Really? A story about a guy naming his penis is nice and polite, but asking about a bowel movement, that probably didn’t even happen, isn’t?

It’s time to end the stigma surrounding bowel movements. They should get as much conversation time as all of the other bodily functions. After all, we all do it. It’s not like it’s a big secret.

The wonderful MissFourEyes and I have started the Movement Movement. We want everyone to start talking openly about their bowel movements. If enough of us do it, maybe it won’t be considered an inappropriate conversation topic anymore. Write a post about your movements and tag it with Movement Movement so everyone who wants to join us can find them. Let’s change the world together!

73 comments on “Join the Movement Movement

  1. Females don’t do that didn’t you know?! 😉

  2. Elyse says:

    Ummmm, Revis? I like moving my bowels so very much I do it many times a day. I have Crohn’s Disease. No, no, don’t get embarrassed. I want to joint the movement movement. Because I am moved anyway, I might as well go with the flow, as it were.

    You’ve given me the best laugh of the day!

    (But you know what — even being a bathroom queen, I would have been a wee bit embarrassed if someone had noticed. Or maybe a pooh-bit embarrassed.

    • You can talk about your movements all you want, my dear. I won’t be embarrassed.

      Well, it’s a double standard, really. If I had said the same thing to a guy walking out of the bathroom it would’ve gotten a laugh. Since it was a woman, it’s rude and inappropriate. That’s my problem with it, especially since she was laughing it up at a guy talking about penises.

  3. twindaddy says:

    I had a movement. What a bunch of shit.

  4. El Guapo says:

    How many cups of beans do I get in the membership kit?

  5. 1jaded1 says:

    Were you listening to my convo at lunch? Two female friends and I were talking about shitting and farting…the other day we were talking about what the perfect stool sample looked like…lol did I say we were in a crowded lunchroom? Poop stuph makes me laugh like a pre-adolescent. I still die laughing at the doodie scene in caddyshack.

    If I felt comfortable giving you a hip check and touch, I wouldn’t care if you asked me about my dump…I’d probably say it came out ok, plus some other stuph.

  6. Rana says:

    I bet they call you potty mouth in your office. 😄 Viva la movement!

  7. Rana says:

    Reblogged this on Virginia the Viruliferous and commented:
    Viva la movement! 🙂

  8. Well I noticed that since I cut back on my portions tremendously and cut out all breads and pastas, not only am I losing weight, but I shit less do.

    I hope that helped this “movement”.

  9. MissFourEyes says:

    Movement Movement? Brilliance, Revis!
    I just got back from moving some movements. And it’s OK to talk about it!

  10. Nelly Black says:

    It has become a thing in my group of friends that the conversation always leads to 1. Sex, 2. Tacos, 3. Poop. So I guess in a way, I have already joined the Movement Movement.

  11. ladyhawk87 says:

    so funny:)

  12. dhonour says:

    Hmmm. It’s not the act, it’s the word. Dump. Women HATE that word. Almost as much as we hate the words panties and moist. Where I used to work, the men would all saunter toward the facilities with a newspaper under their arm, with a sense of swaggering pride. Owning up to what was about to happen. Women would seek out a toilet on the next floor, next building to avoid the obvious. We’ll talk about tampons and blood clots and epidurals and stitches and tears to the perineum until we’re blue in the face. But not that. At least not when it’s referred to as a ‘dump.’ Next time, try “Did everything come out ok?”. 😉

  13. BrainRants says:

    Great initiative! I’m behind this all the way, and I’ll push to see this in the bucket. Perhaps the next issue is anal leakage…

  14. The Hook says:

    You’re both nuts, but I love you anyway. Good luck!

  15. merbear74 says:

    I would have told you it was a delightful dump…damn, some people are just so…anal?

  16. The Cutter says:

    Everybody poops. No reason we shouldn’t be open and talk about it. I suggest you change this blog into a chronicle of all your movements.

  17. Maybe I should start a third blog just for the Movement Movement.

  18. Dude, thank you for this. Where do I sign up?

    Actually, I’m very happy with my movements lately. I started following the warrior’s diet. And since then, I have to say, they are perfectly healthy, solid movements. Much like the Movement Movement is a solid movement.

  19. Hey, I talk about shit all the time. That’s all I do. I have a whole blog full of shit.

  20. djmatticus says:

    You crazy movers and shakers always wanting to make the world a better place! Why can’t you just let it be the dump it is… (did you see what I did there)?

  21. Funny…

    Growing up, my brother and I would proudly tell each other that everything came out good. We would broadcast it to the neighborhood. Then at some point.. it became taboo for me to talk about things like that. If you gotta go, you go.

  22. […] like an appropriate post for post number 69 on my blog. No, it’s not about sex, but it is my Movement Movement post. This morning my movement came out smoothly, but it was green. Can anyone guess what I drank […]

  23. kirstenhwhyte says:

    Maybe it’s only okay to talk about these things retrospectively. Your team lead felt it was okay to talk about the guy who named his penis (don’t you all name your penis????) because he no longer worked there. When you leave, someone will start a conversation with “do you remember that guy who asked that woman about having a poo?”

  24. Uh, Revis, you do realise that you’ve just put a load of, well, shit, on the blog that is supposed to be the unshittiest™ blog on the internet? And am I the only one enjoying the irony of this?

  25. Jean says:

    I’ve been looking for a good movement. Don’t get me wrong. I’ve had plenty of movements this week, but I think joining a movement . . . you know . . . group with a cause might give me something to think about while I’m on the toilet.

Revis "......."

