To Fight or Not to FIght

I’m sorry, Daily Prompt, that I couldn’t get to you earlier today.  It’s very late, but those assholes at work actually made me do work today.  I know!  I can’t  believe it either!  I was pissed.  So anyway, now that I’m finally here….PROMPT ME!

When faced with confrontation, do you head for the hills or walk straight in? Was there ever a time you wished you’d had the opposite reaction?

Well, DP, you’ve unearthed one of my most troubling foibles.  I loathe confrontation.  I avoid it at all costs, really.  I hate arguing.  I hate fighting.  I hate it all.  It’s so unnecessary.  So avoidable.  So…stupid.

What do you MEAN Mufassa wasn’t my dad? Take it back!  I’ll kick your ass!

I always try to find a way to resolve things peaceably.  I will only engage in a confrontation as a last resort.  Sometimes I avoid it even when I shouldn’t.  Although, this trait served me well as a retail manager for many years.  There are many times I should have gone off on customers who were being absolute dicks, but I couldn’t do it.

There is, however, one incident where I wish I had the balls to not avoid a confrontation.  I once spent time with a woman and she thought the time went very well, but it all felt awkward to me.  Instead of telling her how I felt, I chickened out.  I was afraid.  I was afraid to hurt her feelings.  I was just afraid.

I eventually couldn’t NOT tell her and when I did it hurt her way more than it would have if I had told her when I had come to that realization.  She had become more attached during that time and ended up with a broken heart.  And it made me feel about as small as an ant.  I felt horrible and I deserved to feel that way.

Note to self: stop being a dumbass.

Lesson learned, though. The hard way.  As usual.  I’m not very good when it comes to dealing with the opposite sex, so at least now I know next time to say what I’m feeling when I feel it.  It may hurt, but it’ll hurt a lot less then than it will down the line.

audience_participation_time

What about YOU dearest reader?  Do you run from confrontation or embrace it?

Check out these other unshitty™ Daily Prompt posts:

  1. Fighter not a lover | Geek Ergo Sum
  2. I Am Ramisa | Ramisa the Authoress
  3. 31.5 Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight | family photos food & craft
  4. Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight | Everyday Adventures
  5. Zero Response! | Nanuschka’s Blog
  6. Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight « Mama Bear Musings
  7. Confrontation: I Hates It | The Cheese Whines
  8. Lady Wisdom – fight or flight | Prayers and Promises
  9. I will not hide | A Teacher’s Blog
  10. Which Hill Do You Want To Die On? (Short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  11. Confrontation – Fight or Flight | Things To Rave About
  12. Only if it’s necessary | Vivir, que no es poco
  13. Shoulda Woulda Coulda Gotten Mad | Never Stationary
  14. many questions and one firm statement | thematticuskingdom
  15. Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  16. Peace… | Haiku By Ku
  17. Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight | Stevie’s Words
  18. Craig Elachie … Stand Fast | mag offleash
  19. This Space Cowboy | hansolosvagina
  20. Fight. | Hope* the happy hugger
  21. The Almost Fight | Donbury Pond
  22. Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight | The corner of my imagination
  23. Fight or Flight: Sleep or Shower. | May Cause Irritation
  24. Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight – No real choice | SERENDIPITY
  25. Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight?…it goes back to Fear | The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel
  26. Sometimes you have to fight when you’re a man … | The Flavored Word
  27. Fight or Flight | The Nameless One
  28. Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight | nikkamichaels
  29. Healthy adrenalin, or utter bile? Yes. | Relax…
  30. Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says | Flickr Comments
  31. Heading for the Hills | Virginia Views
  32. Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight | The Blogging Path
  33. Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight | Iam Who Iam
  34. Fight, Flight, or Freeze | One Man Versus the World
  35. Confrontation, conversation, negotiation | The Small Girl Chronicles
  36. The Sticky Predicament of Mr. Thomas Agnew (Short Fiction) | meanderedwanderings
  37. Flight or Fight | OK, Who Ate The Daisies …
  38. Daily Prompt: Confrontation or Peace | My Daily Prompt Blog
  39. Yeah, I’m Confronting Confrontation. What are you gonna do about it!?? | Icescreammama
  40. Fight or flight | Echoes and Whispers
  41. Freeze! | A Sign Of Life
  42. Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight; Can it be both? | Live, Love, Laugh, Dance, Pray
  43. Opening the Door to Love | Cheri Speak
  44. Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight | Stills, Words, and Motion
  45. Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight | I really just pretend to know stuff
  46. Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight (short and sweet) | the curious traveler
  47. Double Losers | Donbury Pond
  48. writemybrainsout
  49. Kind of Confrontational | Kind of a Bum
  50. 702: Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight: “Flee” | SEVEN Hundred 50
  51. Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight/The High School Chronicals | Musings&Rants
  52. A challenging situation | Artifacts and fictions
  53. Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight | AmiLoo’s Ramblings
  54. Daily Post and Story A Day May #31: The Other Side | One Starving Activist
  55. Won’t You Be A Neighbor? | Wiley’s Wisdom
15 comments on “To Fight or Not to FIght

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    I hate to confront…when im confronted and justified I accept accountability. When unjustified, I will eat you whole.

  2. El Guapo says:

    I’d rather not have the confrontation either, but I’m old enough to know that sometimes you just need to stand up and be counted.

  3. […] Daily Prompt: To Fight or Not to FIght […]

  4. […] Daily Prompt: To Fight or Not to FIght […]

  5. I’d much rather sit down and talk it out sensibly. Not a fan of big screaming rows or rudeness. But it’s not always easy to pin someone down to be able to talk to them about what you want to talk to them about, and so it all ends up going unsaid and then you get a mess.

  6. djmatticus says:

    I certainly don’t embrace confrontation… but I don’t run from it like I used to either.

Revis "......."

