The Evolution of My Geekdom Part 7

We’ve come to current day with my story. My geekdom now includes my video games (which are currently Left 4 Dead 2 and Dragon Age 2), my books (which I’m currently reading the New Jedi Order books. I finished Jurassic Park a few weeks ago, so I should probably change my widget), and the last thing. The last thing is…..

writing.

Sure, writing by itself doesn’t make me a geek, but what I write about does. I write fan fiction. I’ve written a Superman story, a Star Wars story (which I will be getting back to soon. I decided to get more organized with my writing and work on one story at a time), a Left 4 Dead story (the one I’m working on now), and 2 other different comic book type stories (Dead Set and Captain Procrastination). I write about my geekdom, and just geekdom in general.

That’s the great thing about geekdom: there’s so many different flavors of it. Besides my particular flavors, there’s also Star Trek (I enjoy the movies, but the only series I ever watched was Deep Space Nine and even that was sporadic), Dr. Who (which I’ve heard good things about, but never what the hell it’s about in the first place), and many, many more (too many to list here).

What’s great about blogging is I’ve met so many new people that share at least some of my geekdom flavors. It’s always nice to find new people who enjoy the same things you do.

So, now you know all about my geekdom (and Goldfish’s). What’s in your geekdom?

12 comments on “The Evolution of My Geekdom Part 7

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    Hi dear Revis. My favorite geek stuph of all time Is The Outer Limits series, both old and new. There was always something twisty that made you say hhhmmmm, this could be possible at some point in time.

  2. El Guapo says:

    Twilight Zone!
    And new Dr Who (It’s about a madman in a box.)

  3. djmatticus says:

    My geekdom? Hmm… well, it’s not as large as it used to be as I don’t spend my lunch hours huddled together in a D&D campaign with my friends anymore, and I don’t read comic books that much anymore, and I rarely ever play video games anymore… (sad, sad, and sad). But, I still have my comic book collection (which includes nearly every Punisher (in most of it’s incarnations) released. I still have some games that I will dust off and play from time to time (I could whip anyone on FIFA ’99 on the Playstation, and I can hold my own playing a bunch of different first person shooters on the desktop). I still have my DragonLance D&D role playing compendum, dice, character sheets, etc… and doubt I will ever part with them. Plus, I still read a lot of different fantasy and science fiction, and then there is always my writing… While I haven’t written anything that is specifically fan fiction, a lot of what I write is heavily inspired by the fantasy and sci-fi authors I follow. Also, I own (and watched completely through more times than is probably healthy) the entirety of both the Highlander TV series and the Smallville TV series…

  4. I’m a geek.. And Baby I was born this way.

  5. I still adore Babylon 5, even though it’s been 15 years since they aired the last episode. I’ve written B5 fanfic. I also liked Poltergeist: The Legacy and wrote fanfic for that too.

    I love gadgets and computers, and one of the tasks I have here at OHP is to maintain the Order’s website. Which allows me to be geeky in my use of HTML code. Part of me would love to do more work on the lines of computer science, maybe studying it, because that would be so cool. Maybe I could invent a daily office app for the Religious on the go, if I knew the code. Or the Order could hire out my services and earn some money that way.

    I also geek about yarn, knitting and crochet. When I’m not glued to my laptop doing some technical geekery, I’m found with yarn and sticks in hand, creating anything from a small amigurami creature to a scarf or a jumper or a skirt or anything really!

Revis "......."

