The Lost Ending

The TV show Lost has been over for a few years now and the ending still upsets many fans. Personally, I didn’t like or dislike the ending. I thought there were things it did well. There were also things it didn’t do well. In my experience, I seem to be alone in this. Everyone else I know who watched the show is at the ends of the spectrum: they either absolutely love it, or they absolutely hate it. Most of them are on the “I hated the ending” team.

The problem with the Lost finale is that the Lost world was too big and had too fanatical of a following. Because of this, the expectations for it were set incredibly high. That meant that no matter how they ended the show, they’d end up pissing somebody off. If the people who hated the old ending got a new ending that they liked, the people who loved the old ending would’ve hated the new ending (Am I going to be the only one who understands that sentence?). That’s my opinion on it, anyways.

Are any of you Lost fans? What did you think about the finale?

25 comments on “The Lost Ending

  1. BrainRants says:

    I’m not a “Lost” fan but I’m pretty damn bitter they cancelled “Firefly” after one fucking season. Hmpf. Oh, and “Star Trek: Enterprise” … I mean really – Jolene Blalock!!

  2. Char Lesie says:

    I think I would put myself in the ‘neither here nor there’ category. I loved Lost, still use it as a refrense for other shows. I think though, that the problem with the ending is that it left you wanting. A conclusion is supposed to conclude the story, not leave you with a WTF moment, but then again that is what Lost was, a WTF moment. So what else could you expect?!

  3. Animockery says:

    I get it, this happens with most shows that end, and this was just on a larger scale than some.

  4. 1jaded1 says:

    I understand that sentence, dear Revis.

    They could have put the alternate endings in the dvd, but then you’d have the gripers asking “why didn’t they use that ending, as the official one, instead?”. Ya can’t please everyone.

    • One of the special features on the DVD is interviews with the cast and crew about the finale, apparently. I haven’t watched it yet. Maybe I should so I could understand the thinking behind it better.

  5. I was a huge Lost Fan and I loved the ending. However, I was ticked plenty of things were never cleared up, they left a lot of unanswered questions. It was almost like they rushed the ending or switched to a different ending halfway through the series.

  6. fibot says:

    We really got addicted to Lost, and while I didn’t HATE the ending, I was a little disappointed in the fact I’d invested so much of my time watching it and in the end that was the ending they went for… but you’re right in what you say about the following being so large, they were NEVER going to be able to think of an ending that would please everybody. I just felt a little like it was the easy way out and they couldn’t think of anything else.

  7. I hated the finale. I was so disappointed, it felt like a colossal copout, and it had too much of a touchy-feely sort of vibe. I know they couldn’t possibly please everyone, but it’s like they almost went out of their way to satisfy nobody.

  8. The Cutter says:

    In terms of giving all of the characters a fitting ending, I thought they did a good job with that. But the producers were apparently mistaken about the appeal of the show. Sure, we liked all the characters, but half the fun was trying to figure out the mysteries and mythology of the island. And way too many of those questions were left unanswered.

    • Good point. Most people, when asked who the main character of the show was, would say Jack. In fact, the main character was the island and they didn’t do enough to tell you the hows and whys of it.

  9. I understand your sentence! But then I wasn’t a fan of Lost. In fact, I don’t think I even watched a full episode. I know, I’m a strange individual!

Revis "......."

