It’s Way Too Fast

I had a doctor appointment today, so I took the day off. I felt like I should post something on my unexpected day off, but nothing was coming to me. I tried to think of a post that wasn’t one of the stories that I’m working on. I got nothing. Then, I felt something on my leg. Looking down, I saw that Baby E was pulling herself up on it. She sees me looking down at her and a huge grin pops onto her face, revealing her first two teeth that have finally poked through. Now I have my post.

Baby E is 10 months old. While she hasn’t had all of her firsts yet, she’s getting close. She hasn’t walked yet, but she can do it when she’s holding onto something, such as furniture and people’s hands. She doesn’t say words yet, but she “talks” quite a bit. She doesn’t read yet, but she certainly likes trying to tear her books apart.

She’s also changing already. It used to be that she thought people clapping was the greatest thing ever. She still does every once in a while, but not too often anymore (although she did clap in her sleep last night. It was hilarious). Now the greatest thing ever is looking at pictures of herself. To her, there is nothing better. Her face lights up, she smiles, she laughs, and she looks at you to make sure you’re as excited about it as she is.

Mirrors are also a source of entertainment for her. If you’re anywhere near one and ask, “Where’s the pretty girl,” she’ll look at it and point to herself. Once you say, “There she is,” after she found herself, she starts laughing.

All of these changes, and firsts, seem to be happening all at once. It’s going by too quickly, and days like today remind me of how much I miss while I’m at work. I know I have to work, otherwise we wouldn’t have a place to live, but it blows that it makes me miss so much. Responsibility sucks ass.

27 comments on “It’s Way Too Fast

  1. My other half says the same thing. I think a lot of Dads feel that way. He often gets upset that he misses a lot of our son’s antics.
    So, I video/photo document everything. 🙂 It helps.

  2. The Cutter says:

    “Responsibility sucks ass” That’s what should be written on most of our gravestones.

  3. BrainRants says:

    Tomorrow she will want a convertible Mustang and an iPhone.

  4. twindaddy says:

    Wait til she’s 13 and you can’t figure out where all the time went.

  5. goldfish says:

    Responsibility totally sucks ass.

  6. Jess says:

    Work does blow. I’ve heard it said that the days drag, but the years fly as a mom. I couldn’t agree more. That’s nice you had today together though. Happy Mom’s Day.

  7. I just pretend I’m not responsible. Sadly then I realize I really am.

    Just wait, soon her talking will no longer be in her language, then it will be formed words, then you’ll be wishing he was back to her language because it’s about as coherent as the babble was.

  8. 1jaded1 says:

    I don’t have kids of my own, but my eldest niece is 5’9…she is 14 years old. I remember holding her at her christening. Time does fly.

  9. Not only do kids grow so fast, but our time with them goes too quickly too. But our time away from them seems like forever. And I’m only an aunt, not a parent!

Revis "......."

