The Evolution Of My Geekdom – Part 4

Things were going along great. We played the Star Wars RPG about once a week. We also tried out D20 Modern, which is a tabletop RPG set in modern times, but that only lasted a few sessions. Star Wars was our main mission. Twindaddy and I took turns Dming. He’d run a story, then I’d run one. It worked out well for a while.
Gradually, it all started going downhill as the relationship soured between Twindaddy and the twins’ mother (and the twins’ mother and her brother).We started playing less and less until we stopped playing altogether. Unlike when I lived in Detroit, however, this time I had other outlets for my geekdom. I had started collecting comic books again.

I tried to be impartial, at first, but as time went along I gravitated more towards the Marvel titles than DC. The only DC book I ended up reading on a regular basis was Nightwing (for those who don’t know, Nightwing is the original Robin, Dick Grayson, all grown up and on his own). I found I related to him more than his mentor, Batman, and I also found his stories more interesting.

In Marvel, the ones I liked the most were Wolverine and Daredevil. I had a friend that collected all of the other big name Marvel titles, so I didn’t have to buy those, I could just borrow his. I also bought some from CrossGen, before they went bankrupt. Negation was my favorite from them. I loved Backlash from WildStorm, which was eventually cancelled when DC bought them out.

It was also during this time that I discovered my love of writing. I started writing Dead Set during this period. Originally, it was supposed to be turned into a comic book. The guy who let me borrow his comics had a brother who was an artist. He read the first five parts, drew some character sketches, and then, after I told him I liked what he had done, backed out without ever telling me why. I never found anyone to replace him, so it just continued on as a story.

I wrote my first novel, as well. To date, it is the only novel that I’ve ever started that I actually finished. This is because of my brain being a TV that is constantly changing channels. The book was called Destroyer of Nations and it was based on the D&D campaign I ran in Detroit. It took me a long time to finish it (I think I wrote it over a period of 2 years) and when I was done with it, I was extremely proud.

I reread it a couple of months ago. Trying to be objective about it is kind of hard for me. After I read it, I thought to myself, “There’s only one problem with this book……it sucks.”

I know a lot of authors hate their first works, and after reading that, I can see why. The story drags in places, the back and forth between the two groups involved in the story is choppy and usually in the wrong places, and almost everyone had the same personality. It is nowhere near being good enough to be published. It could be salvaged (because I think the main plot is still good), but it would take a complete rewrite and I’m not emotionally invested enough in the story anymore.

Oh, well. Live and learn, I guess.

TO BE CONTINUED……

13 comments on “The Evolution Of My Geekdom – Part 4

  1. Sweet. I am a Marvel girl myself, but I happen to collect anything Harley Quinn. She is just down right sexy and devious and hilarious. I love her. I also had a few Tomb Raider comics.

  2. goldfish says:

    Sorry, but DC totally rules.

    • Maybe it’d be different now, but I just couldn’t get into any DC books back then except for Nightwing. I tried reading quite a few of them but never got interested in any of them enough to collect them.

  3. 1jaded1 says:

    I’m partial to The Dark Knight. I like The Punisher too, although the movie sucked @$$.

  4. Len says:

    Prefer marvel myself. DC characters were like gods and, believe it or not, I couldn’t relate. Marvel had characters with “real” problems. I think salvaging your story is worth trying. Easier than a whole new plot line.

    • Well that and DC was constantly doing alternate universe stories. Marvel did them every once in awhile, but DC had at least one going at all times. It seemed like they were dipping into the well one too many times.

Revis "......."

