So It Was April 12th, Not April 1 2?

When I looked at the calendar yesterday, it looked to me like it didn’t say April 12, but instead April 1 2, which I took to mean April First 2, or “April First Part Deux: The Sequel!”. That’s why I put up this post yesterday. (I’m sorry to any of you who read this and got upset. In my defense, I did warn you I was doing it.)

Actually, I read this post by Becca from 25toFly and thought to myself, “Even though she probably has no idea who the hell I am, I will still be a nice guy and try to teach her how to successfully pull off a prank (or as she put it: lie).”

Rule #1: Don’t do it on April Fools Day.
One of the keys in any successful prank/joke is the element of surprise. If they know, or suspect, it is coming, they will be a lot less likely to fall for it.

Rule #2: The Devil’s in the details.
Just saying you’re retiring is not going to do it. There has to be a story, or reason behind it. If there isn’t one, people will question it and the more they question it, the more likely it will be that the ruse is discovered.

Rule #3: Deflect, deflect, deflect
By adding other variables into the equation, it makes it harder for the target to focus on any one thing. In my post, for example, I insinuate that there are people out there who are verbally attacking me. Now, instead of focusing entirely on me saying that I’m quitting, they’re also going to be thinking about who I might be talking about.

There you have it, Becca. You did some good things (turning off your blog for a little while was a nice touch), but if you follow these simple rules, you’ll knock it out of the park. So, now that you know, I’ll be expecting you to come up with an epic prank next time.

This entry was posted in Stuph.

16 comments on “So It Was April 12th, Not April 1 2?

  1. Adam S says:

    My idiocy has been tattooed onto the face of the blogosphere…
    (I really set myself up here, didn’t I?)

  2. becca3416 says:

    I have so much to learn from men on snowflakes. Thanks for the pointers. I have things scheming already. Muhahaha!

  3. rarasaur says:

    Evil! 🙂 … but now I have the benefit of feeling like I received good news, so yay! 🙂

Revis "......."

