The Evolution Of My Geekdom – Part 3

Detroit was a whole new world for me. Other than the family I had living up there, I knew absolutely nobody. This did not bode well for me as I wanted to continue playing D&D. I went out and met some new people, but none of them shared my geekdom. If I even mentioned D&D to them, they’d look at me as if I suddenly sprouted 5 heads.
In the end, there were only 2 people I was able to convince to play: my younger brother and one of my cousins, and even with those two it took a lot of pleading before they agreed to it. I was a little nervous before we played. It would be the first time I was going to be the DM. The DM I had played under before I moved was amazing. He always seemed to be able to weave his stories in ways that kept everyone interested and into it. I hoped I’d be able to do that too.


We only ended up playing 2 or 3 sessions together. Either I didn’t do a very good job as a DM, or they just didn’t like the game. I guess I could ask them, but it’s been so long now that it doesn’t even matter anymore. Because of this, my geekdom went into hibernation while I lived in Detroit. I had started to get into comic books before I moved up there, as well, but because the cost of living was higher than in Kentucky, I couldn’t afford to get them while I was there.
It all started to come back when I moved back down here. I ended up moving in with the guy who had attacked my character from the previous story. I still considered him a friend and felt that this was a good way for us to reconnect. It turned out to be a disaster. First of all, he was a slob (I’m not the neatest person out there, but I do have some cleanliness standards). Secondly, he held it against me that I moved to Detroit. Apparently, in his mind, I moved away just to spite him (or at least that’s how he made it seem to me). I put up with his attitude for a little while and then I got the hell out of there. I couldn’t really afford it anyways.
Moving out was the beginning of my transition period. I was phasing out of D&D and phasing back into comic books and Star Wars. KOTOR came out and I was instantly hooked (and still am). I had a few friends, who were into comics, that let me catch up on their collections, so I was able to find out what had happened while I was away from them. That led me into buying comics again. Buying comics again led me to the Star Wars RPG.
The comic book store in our area is also where you go to get all of your role-playing game supplies. I was looking through the store and noticed that there was a Star Wars RPG (I didn’t know that until then). I immediately went to get ahold of Twindaddy. He was a little skeptical at first. I told him it was a Star Wars version of D&D. He didn’t like D&D, so he was unsure. He asked what it was like. I told him it was like KOTOR (which is true. KOTOR’s game mechanics are run off the D20 system, just like the tabletop RPG) except we got to make up our own stories. He was in (or at least willing to give it a shot).
To fill up the game, we enlisted his then-wife (the twins’ mother), her brother and his wife, and our younger brother. I had a gaming group again…..

43 comments on “The Evolution Of My Geekdom – Part 3

  1. Len says:

    I guess I need to try out KOTOR. I have heard good things from several people now.

    • Even though around 10 years of new games (and many new systems) have come out since its release, I’d have to say that it is still my favorite video game of all time. I’ve beaten that game six or seven times, but I can still play it. I never get tired of it.

  2. Sarah says:

    How RPG/D&D oriented is America? Is it a big thing over there? In England it’s getting bigger and literally whatever town I’m in I’ve found groups to play with!
    And, is DMing tough?

    Also, I recently set up a blog/shop selling cartoony D&D designs and thought you might like to take a look as it’s related to your blog πŸ™‚ http://thescurvydwarf.wordpress.com/

    • As far as tabletop gaming, I don’t know if I’d call it a big thing, but it is pretty common. Most people here that play RPGs do it via video games such as World of Warcraft or Star Wars: The Old Republic.
      DMing is tough at first. As you can tell from the story, my first time didn’t go so well. Once you get used to it, however, it becomes easier.

  3. El Guapo says:

    Can’t keep a good geek down.
    I didn’t like KOTOR. The setup was good, but I thought tsome of the mechanics were implemented horribly.

  4. goldfish says:

    I would have played with you if we lived there at the same time.

  5. Maybe this would be a tabletop I would have gotten into. Don’t like D&D really… just saying.

  6. Twitchy Witch says:

    Would you like to play a game? I’ve started a game and decided to invite table top bloggers to get in on it. It’s not what you think it is though….
    http://witchyrants.wordpress.com/your-story-a-group-effort-choose-your-own-adventure-game/

Revis "......."

