SWFF: A Race To Danger Part 9

RACE TO DANGER

Another headache greeted me when I woke up. I’m starting to loathe the person who invented stun blasts (Granted, they’re not the one who pulled the trigger, but if they didn’t invent the thing, I wouldn’t have been stunned in the first place. Then again, if they didn’t invent them, someone else probably would have and the only thing that would change is who I loathe. Great. I’m starting to ramble again. This happens every time I get hit with a stun blast. I’m starting to loathe the person who invented stun blasts. Granted, they’re not the one who pulled the trigger….Wait…Blast it!).

I was in my quarters. Nalith had pulled a chair up next to my bed and was lounging, waiting for me to awaken. He hadn’t seen my eyes open yet. I could make a move for his blaster.

“You will never get the drop on me,” he said, “if you keep announcing your intentions before you do them.”

Blast! I was thinking out loud again. “What’s with the stun blast,” I asked. “If you wanted to talk, all you had to do was come and ask me. You didn’t have to send those two idiots.”

“Let’s just say that it was another test I had for you. I must say, Torr, that you continue to surprise me. I never expected you to be so much fun.”

“I’m so glad that I’m amusing you,” I said in my best Envy imitation. He was not impressed. Either that, or he didn’t get it. Ignoring my sarcasm, Nalith continued.

“We have a problem, Torr. I have many toys that you’re not aware of. One of those toys intercepted a transmission coming from this ship, warning Turussk about the little present I was leaving for him.”

“You mean the bomb you brought on my ship?”

“That would be it.”

“If your toy is as good as you claim it to be, then it’ll be good enough to tell you that I have made no transmissions since I got here. If someone did warn him from this ship, it happened while I was off of it.”

“I am aware of this, but you could have had one of your crew do it for you.”

“Go ahead and ask them. Katellan works more for you now than me, and Envy would have no trouble in turning me in.”

As if on cue, the door opened and Envy started walking backwards into the room. He was apparently in conversation with Katellan. “No, I get his room now that he’s,” was all that he was able to speak before he turned around and saw me. “You’re alive,” he queried. “I mean, thank the stars that you’re alive, Master.” Turning to Nalith, he said, “What is wrong with you? why haven’t you killed him yet, you moron?”

Nalith looked at me and said, “For no charge, I can make sure that it never talks again.”

Envy looked back out into the hallway and hollered, “You need me where, Katellan?” There was no answer, but Envy continued anyways. “Why do you look so scared now, loser? Wait, where are you going?”

A thud sounded out in the hallway, followed by heavy footsteps running towards the ramp. “It was the Devaronian,” Nalith cried as he jumped out of the chair. “Let’s get him!”

I followed Nalith out of my quarters and down to the ramp. When we arrived, Katellan had stopped only a few meters outside of the ship. A few meters beyond him, Turussk stood with a blaster rifle in hand. “If you and your little puppet want to kill me, Nalith,” the Trandoshan said, “you’re going to have to do a lot better than that.”

Red bolts of energy shot out of his blaster. I jumped off the side of the ramp and tried to find some cover. Nalith began to return fire as he sought cover, too. I heard something clatter beside me and, instinctively, I jumped away from it. A stun grenade went off right where I had just been sitting. Luckily, my jump took me far enough away from it that it didn’t hit me full-force. My ears were slightly ringing and it took me a few seconds to see straight again. When I opened my eyes back up, I saw Turussk standing ten meters away, pointing his blaster rifle right at me. He pulled the trigger.

A shadow passed in front of me and I heard a grunt of pain. The next thing I saw was Katellan laying next to me with a blaster wound in his chest. Turussk pointed his blaster again, but Nalith’s fire caused him to duck for cover again. I picked Katellan’s head up off the floor and looked into his eyes. Turussk could have began firing at me again at that moment and I wouldn’t have cared. I cradled the head of the man who just saved my life.

“I never betrayed you,” he breathed.

“I know,” I assured him as he, my friend, died in my arms.

9 comments on “SWFF: A Race To Danger Part 9

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    Your writings of today have brought out an array of emotions from my Jaded self. So sad.

  2. The Hook says:

    You should be very proud.
    Great work.

Revis "......."

