The Evolution of my Geekdom – Part 1

When I first started posting to this blog again, I said that I’d use it for all of my “geek” posts: zombies, D & D, and comic books. Any of my other posts would go on Stuph Blog. It seemed to be a good idea….until the only things I’m posting on here now are award acceptances and my Left 4 Dead story. In an effort to change that, I’m going to take you on a trip down memory lane and tell you all how my geekdom came into being.

As with all men around my age, my geekdom first started with Star Wars. I wasn’t born when A New Hope came out in 1977, so I obviously couldn’t see it in theaters. I was 2 when The Empire Strikes Back came out in 1980, and I doubt my dad would waste money taking a 2-year-old to the movies. In 1983, when Return of the Jedi was released, he might’ve taken me to see it in the theater, but if he did, I don’t remember it.

What I do remember is that these movies came along just as VCRs were becoming readily available and that I can’t remember a time when we didn’t have all three movies in one form or another. I also remember watching those movies over and over again non-stop. By the time I got to middle school, I had seen each of those movies at least 200 times. That galaxy far, far way was my only source of geekdom until after I graduated high school.

Then, around 6 months after I graduated, I started working at my local Arby’s (Please don’t ask me about their roast beef. Trust me, you don’t want to know). The people who were already working there were a pretty tight group and, while they were nice to me, I was still considered an outsider for a little while. Then, one of them asked me if I had ever played D & D before. I told him that I hadn’t and he immediately said I should try it. I will usually give anything a shot, so I told him I would.

We all worked the closing shift, which meant that we would go in at 4 in the afternoon and have to stay until we got done for the night. Sometimes we got done right around closing time at midnight. Other times we were there until the openers got there at 6 the next morning. That night we got done around 1 and went over to the DM’s house to play. Everyone already had their characters, except for me. Since there was not a healer in the group, they gave me a pre-made character that was a priest (if you don’t know, in D & D priests can cast healing spells). Then, he set us up with a ‘practice’ fight. It was a real fight, but it was against creatures that couldn’t really do any harm to us. He just did it as a way of introducing me into how the game worked. I said I got it, and then he started in on the campaign.

We came to our first fight during the real story. Me, thinking it would be as easy as the last fight (at this point I didn’t know that the last fight was rigged to pose no threat to us), charged in like a fighter. In the new versions there are ways of making priest very capable warriors….not in 2nd edition, though. I got my ass kicked and my character ended up dying. A lot of people probably would’ve given up then, but I stuck with it and I’m glad I did. They made me a fighter (since that’s what I was playing like back then) and my 2nd character ended up lasting a lot longer.

From that point on, we played about 4 times a week for the next year. It was great. The DM was taking us through an amazing story that he had come up with. I eventually switched over from a fighter to a thief, which is what led me to my roguish ways. I loved being a thief. I snuck up behind enemies and destroyed them with my backstab. The challenge of trying to come up with new ways of striking from the shadows was probably what I enjoyed the most. Unfortunately, all good things must come to an end.

TO BE CONTINUED……

10 comments on “The Evolution of my Geekdom – Part 1

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    Noooo!!! Not another soap opera, I mean cliffhanger. ;-). Episode 4 of Star Wars was the first movie I saw in the theater (yeah I’m oldish). I followed suit for episodes 5 and 6. I have never seen episodes 1-3 and don’t know if I ever will. I look forward to reading about your journey into geekdom!

    Jaded.

  2. Len says:

    I loved 2nd edition. THAC0, ftw.

  3. Lol. I was born when Return of the Jedi was released. So I never got the joy of seeing them in the theaters, but I do watch them non stop. Never got into tabletop gaming, but MMO’s and strategy games. Duh. They’re my life usually. Well sometimes.
    And Arby’s roast beef… good basketball.

  4. […] the kingdom, you should definitely go read some of the other stories that Revis is working on: https://revisedgewater.wordpress.com/2013/04/06/the-evolution-of-my-geekdom-part-1/ […]

Revis "......."

