A Rare Revis Rant

My job uses the point system for attendance. Basically, if you miss any time without using sick or vacation time, you get a point and if you go a month without getting a point, they take a point away. Seems simple enough, right? That’s what I thought too. Then I went to work today.

After I got back from lunch, the woman who works in the office (the one who I accidentally called myself Daddy in front of) asked me if I was late on Friday. I told her that I wasn’t.

“What time did you clock in,” she asked me.

“10:30,” I replied. (I work 10:30-7:00 every day)

“Then you were late.”

Ummmmmm……WHAT???

According to her, if you clock in at 10:30, it records in the system as 10:31, thereby making me late. I have to clock in no later than 10:29. Once again, Ummmmmm…..WHAT???

How can I be late if I clocked in when I was supposed to? That’s one of the stupidest things I’ve ever heard.

When I first started working there, I was told to clock in as soon as I got there, even if it was before I actually started working, so that’s what I’ve been doing. I’ve never had a problem with this before now and I’ve been there almost a year now.

Normally, I’d just let it go, but I got a point because of this. I don’t plan on calling in anytime soon, but shit happens. I don’t want to get written up one day because I clocked in on time. That’s 33 grams of bullshit.

17 comments on “A Rare Revis Rant

  1. merbear74 says:

    My old job did the same shit to me.

  2. Sofia Leo says:

    Wow! That is shitty!

  3. goldfish says:

    Boooooooooooooo.

  4. Geesh. Lol. That’s crazy. It’s like they’re being ass holes just to be ass holes.

  5. 1jaded1 says:

    That is THE SUCK. Seriously. I would want to see something in policy where that crock is written. Oh wait, I bet you have to punch out too…how does the system treat that? One minute late or right on time? If it was one minute late, I’d be asking how much overtime I’ve earned.

  6. Animockery says:

    I worked at a warehouse like this once. The only difference was they had it set by 5 minute increments. Each time you were “late”, i.e. 10:30:01 it counted it the same as 5 minutes late and it went on your record.

  7. Completely agree! Down with communism! Or something.

  8. twindaddy says:

    Ugh, companies are stupid.

  9. Alastair says:

    That’s bullshit!! How the hell can they get away with that? “We’re going to write you up for being on time” I think that company needs a kick up the ass!!

  10. So, how many “good job Revis’s” did you get for being “on time” for the MAJORITY of your time with the company……exactly. Tell the nice time clock officer that if she is going to point out your errors, she also needs to recognize the good. This company has some serious issues.

  11. El Guapo says:

    Start leaving a minute early everyday.

  12. The Cutter says:

    It’s B.S. If they want you there at 10:29, then tell you to be there at 10:29.

  13. This is such nonsense! Rubbish!! Bull crap!!! I would be outraged!!!! You seem to be keeping it together better than me. I would be verbally throwing up all over the office, every chance I got, and probably would result in more than just a point for my lack of control over a matter with such low rationale… I think I expressed my point here! 🙂 XO!!

  14. Thanks everyone. I just needed to vent. Now that I’ve calmed down some, I’ve gone back to my normal mindset. I remembered that there are a lot of people out there that don’t even have a job. I reminded myself that if this is the worst I have to deal with, it’s not that bad.

  15. The Hook says:

    Gotta love the corporate mentality, right?

  16. Big companies are too concerned about the bottom line and their public image and their turnover than their staff. I used to work for a supermarket, and one Friday, I worked 4 hours extra than what I was scheduled, and my friend worked an extra 3 hours to what he was scheduled, so we could help out and get the work done, so the customers could get their deliveries on time. The following morning I was in on time, but my friend ended up being half an hour late, and I resorted to ringing his house phone (he’d left his mobile in his locker) and the store manager was a right dick about the fact that my friend was late, even though we’d both bent over backwards the day before to get them out of a hole.

    I think some of this comes down to individuals being a-holes rather than the corporation, however.

Revis "......."

