My Daughter Is Trying To Get Me In Trouble

They say that when your child is young, you should call yourself what they’re going to call you. Therefore, instead of “I”, I’ve been calling myself “Daddy”. Sometimes when I leave the room, she will start to cry. To try to calm her down, I’ll say things like, “Daddy, will be right back. He’s got to make you a bottle.” or “Sorry, baby girl, but Daddy has to go to the bathroom.”

At work, there’s a Japanese woman who works in the office. She speaks English not good (I love irony). Lately, because they’ve decided to take on side projects that we don’t have the manpower for, they’ve sent her out into the warehouse to help us. Yesterday, she asked me for something just as I was walking out of the room. Apparently, her broken English reminded me of Baby E crying, because, I responded with, “Hold on. Daddy will get it for you as soon as he’s done with this.”

As soon as I finished saying it, I stopped and slowly walked backwards into the room….where everyone was staring at me with the “Did he really just say that?” look on their faces. I was hoping that I’d just imagined it, but their faces confirmed that this was not the case.

Luckily, she was not offended by it. In fact, she thought it was hilarious. Hopefully, I can stop myself before saying something like that again.

25 comments on “My Daughter Is Trying To Get Me In Trouble

  1. dmauldin53 says:

    That’s hilarious! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. deanabo says:

    I could so imagine me and/or my hubby doing this. Very funny.

  3. 1jaded1 says:

    I’m glad she thought it was funny and it turned out well. And now i can say bwahaaha. In our office, we have nicknames for each other. You would have been forevermore known as “The Daddy”.

    • If it was any other woman who worked in the building, I’m betting that I would’ve been called into the office right after and got a talking to.

      • 1jaded1 says:

        That is unfortunate. As a female, I wouldnt have complained. I dont work in your group though. People really need to lighten up.

        • I don’t know if it’s just me, or if they do it to all of the guys, but almost all of the women there look at me like I’m always trying to picture them naked or something. I wish I was allowed to tell them that none of them are worth trying to picture naked.

  4. TammyeHoney says:

    Tis better to be known as daddy than some other nicknames lol…glad it went well.

  5. djmatticus says:

    Oh my gosh! That’s hilarious… and just a wee bit embarassing. I did something like that in college, accidently using the nickname of someone (that they weren’t aware of) to their face. Oops. He was offended. These things happen. Life goes on. 😛

  6. stephrogers says:

    And your co-workers didn’t yell out “who’s your daddy!”? Goodness what a missed opportunity

  7. Elyse says:

    Hilarious! As long as you don’t try to change her diaper, you’ll be fine.

  8. A definite “DOH!!” moment that one. Hope your co-workers don’t take the mickey too badly out of you!

  9. MissFourEyes says:

    Haha! Glad she thought it was funny, that could have turned out so wrong

  10. […] my way there, I ran into the woman who works in the office. You may remember her from this story. She stopped me and asked me about a radio we were having trouble finding. After I told her that I […]

  11. […] had to work with the Japanese woman in the office (You may remember her from this story. Or maybe this one instead) a lot more than usual. Yesterday, she was in the tech room with the guy who helped get me the job. […]

Revis "......."

